You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2 (for now...) Ways to Challenge Your Creative Mind Every Day

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Great post! While I think portions of this are a bit alarmist (as you admit). I'm a believer of friction being entirely relative. It's a discover-able creative catalyst (I agree) that can be found almost anywhere. Even (yes even) a "mortgage" payment.

This all reminds me of a conversation I had with Bob and Denise about creativity. Denise spoke at length about the societal expectation of bearing children. Her creativity was constantly marginalized for being a woman in a man's world, in the 70s and still today. She sort of flipped the script... in that, she embraced the friction of her pregnancy (I think she jokingly used the word "complexity and contradiction") and used that newfound energy to discover, innovate, pursue. She said that men will never be able to have that experience and that's an advantage for women. Like the ultimate source of friction. My point being, creativity is a muscle (yes) but it's also everywhere and at every stage in life. You just have to keep your eyes open and at the ready.

Sort:  

Fun post @hansikhouse and I like what you've said @voronio - "My point being, creativity is a muscle (yes) but it's also everywhere and at every stage in life. You just have to keep your eyes open and at the ready."
So true!

Absolutely, and I didn't mean to make it seem these are the only ways to maintain creativity. It's all around us but I think we (at least speaking for myself) sometimes fall into this trap that unless I feel creative today, I can't do creative work, much like if I don't feel strong, I should skip training for that marathon I'm planning.

That's a fascinating way to look at pregnancy and it's true that it's an ultimate human triumph that men will never experience... =P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58