Inside Designer's Studio: Logo Design Unveiled

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

logos-cover.png

In this post I'll show you how things work in logo design taking my two recent logos as examples.

About the logos

Both logos were made for Telegram channels. Most of the time people use Telegram's mobile app, so a channel logo should look fine as a small icon. That's why I've chosen typographic concepts with as less details as possible.

pydjango-logo.png

I've designed this logo for PyDjango Telegram channel. This channel is about using Django template system with Python. Here I am demonstrating how Python and Django are perfectly fitting together.

cryptoschool-logo.png

This one is for the Russian CryptoSchool channel. The Russian name is КриптоШкола, that's why I've chosen those two initial Cyrillic letters for the logo (the second one is inverted).

The Key to Good Logo Design

I studied logo design in a design school and on my own for many years and while there's a lot to say about it, the most important single logo design aspect is this:

Create as many concept variations as possible before going any further.

Our brains are lazy. After getting a few first ideas we stop and move on to their development. It's a mistake. We need a bunch of raw material if we want to create something out of nothing, as is the case with a logo for a new brand or project.

The closest example is the photographer's work. We admire a brilliant photo without even thinking about how much shots were actually done to choose the best one from. This is how both nature and human creativity work: a lot of small steps in many directions and then a big leap forward.

How it was done

And here's how I was working on those concepts.

First I've done a lot of sketching to find different concepts and variations.

cryptoschool-logo-pen.png

Then I've moved to my Mac and did the actual work in Adobe Illustrator.

cryptoschool-ai-01.png

cryptoschool-ai-02.png

I normally make a few final versions to choose from:

pydjango-logos.png

cryptoschool-logos.png

Often it happens to me that the final result is different from the sketches, as is the case with the second logo.

For more complex work I make even more sketches. I vary the tools (pencil, felt-tip pen, ink pen, brush...), the forms (round, rectangular, sharp, soft..), composition of the parts, abstraction level, graphic style, point of view... the more the better.

When a logo has a textual part, I do the same kind of work with the type, first sketching as much type forms as possible and then choosing a typeface or manually drawing the final letters.

Hope this short overview could help those of you who'd like to design a logo for your website or project. I am also available to make one for you, foe the details check out my steemgigs post here.

You're welcome to ask questions or share your experience about the topic in the comment section!


Related post: How to Make your Steemit Posts Look Beautiful: A Quick Guide


I'm a blogger, web designer, entrepreneur, world citizen and a father to seven. You can find me daily on Steemit Chat and Discord under the same nick.
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vitkolesnik from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I want more info

On what part of the post?)

Nice intro to logos for the design-challenged... I am bookmarking this for if I ever try to make my own logo for a project!

Thanks Daniel, let me know if you ever need an advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86