My office desk that I built using steel pipes and a granite slab.

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

Using a whole slab, it was cut in half and made 2 3.5' wide by 8-9' long tables, these were mounted to plywood hidden under 1 1/4" Rigid pipe. Using Kee-klamp connectors I was able to build a frame for all of this.

20180317_132915.jpg

Moving my office into a new room, meant new opportunities for my work space. I have seen designs online of massive desks built out of essentially scaffolding. Some used wood for the tables, others used marble, granite or concrete. I decided to go with Granite.

20180310_181608.jpg

20180310_181622.jpg

Making sure my chair fits underneath the piping, its important to remember the weight of the granite will sink it a little more as well.

20180310_181624.jpg

I built an L-Shaped table using 1 ¼” Rigid Pipe, and Kee-klamp connectors. I sized my table to use almost an entire slab of Granite. I did this because buying a whole slab allows for more exotic patterns and honestly I need the space so it was no problem.

20180313_095335.jpg

I spent a few days driving to different Granite outlets to see my options. Since I was getting a whole slab everything was an option at these stores, instead of just a small area to choose from.

20180313_111710.jpg

I probably looked at 30-50 slabs and decided on the above. I really like the black squares, dashes and dots, along with large quartz crystal deposits. In some areas you can shine a flashlight though the slab and see light coming though on the otherside due to the crystals in the granite.

20180316_150638.jpg

20180316_151128.jpg

20180316_161113.jpg

20180316_161120.jpg

After deciding on the slab and putting down a deposit, waiting for them cut and process it. I set up and installed the boarding that will go under neigh the Granite. I did this so the pressure on the granite is more uniform instead of just on small parts across the bars. I used plywood which then I painted a few times.

20180316_185607.jpg

20180317_080758.jpg

Cut, painted and installed with my LED lights bordering the desk.

20180317_123353.jpg

It took about a week for the Granite outlet to get the slab to a cutter and installer, which then the installer brought the slab which was now cut in half for my table.

20180317_132909redsized.jpg

I have been sitting at this desk for months now, and its had no issues whatsoever. I find myself staring at the patterns in the granite and touching its special textures across the stone. Then I snap back to reality and get back to work. I find it amazing I completed this, and that I have a granite countertop in my office. You would usually only see them in high end kitchens, or used in nice homes for floors.

The desk stays very cool, I can rest my wrists on it as the fabricators planed the edges so they are not sharp. I am amazed how cool the desk stays, its basically a big piece of quartz stone.

Here is simplifed buildings site for many of their projects, where I got the Kee-Klamps and ideas for design:

https://www.simplifiedbuilding.com/projects

#motivation #inspiration #homesteading #homestead #design

QmZKqWcCXFv6NC6mUtPUBRsETQgc3nEJC2BC4Bwo38BkZ6.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation!

Sort:  

Hello @solominer, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@creativecrypto

thanks much for the upvote, cool blog. Ill check it out more.

Granite is great material, maybe not so often seen as such a big tables - but it is doing great job here! Well done man! Congrats!

@photovisions

It sure is, its something used more in kitchens than offices. Or for most use in lounges or for decoration.

Thanks!

A natural granite work desk is out of sight. Cool to look at and cool to touch. :-)

@manorvillemike

Its been alot of fun, I try to be careful what I set on it so the polish does not get scratched. Ill probably have to recoat it in a few years I guess.

Yeah I think it actually cools the room a little bit, its always a few degrees colder than the room. Im worried in the winter it will hurt my wrists being bitterly cold hah.

@cosmiccrimes

thanks much, and for the upvote and comment.

You're welcome. I wish my upvote had more power lol. I'm just a puny little minow lol... for now.

@cosmiccrimes

Hah no worries, since the price of Steem is pretty low its making peoples upvotes low in value. Though bear markets are normal and im not powering down.

This is really looks awesome friend.

@tussar11

thanks much! glad you like it.

Wow
Amazing, cool, strong and beautiful table @solominer

@santiintan

Glad you liked it, I work on it all day long so its something I think sharing would be cool. I wonder if some of the patterns in my desk are the same found in the stones I look for in the mountains.

That is awesome!!! I know granite has come down in price a little bit still dang!!! $$$ so cool!

@balticbadger

thanks! It took alot of planning to get to completion. Yeah I think the granite slab cost me a little under $1000, fabrication and install of the slab was another few hundred and all of the pipes and connectors were another $1500.

But I think if i hired a "home designer" it might have cost alot more.

I can imagine that took a lot of planning and work! Did you have a lot of help? I'd say you saved a ton and well worth the money and effort!

It's a great choice deciding to use granite for the table.

@johnwalker1

Thanks! I think I made the right choice, my other options were hardwood, synthetics, marble or concrete.

All of the above do not have the amount of stuff going on in the material as Granite. I can stare at it for hours and find new details. Also I can shine light through some of the crystals, with the LED strip so that was a plus too.

That's very nice. I hope you enjoy your new office.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83