Dogs, Cool Buildings, Positive and Negative Space: The Continuing Adventures of a Dogwalker

in #creativity6 years ago

Hello Steemit,

I am a nature loving dog walker and amateur photographer finding my way in a big new city! Some days can be more intense than others. Today was a really fun day, but quite a lot of hustle-bustle. I bike between dog walks and when it is cold here in Chicago (which has been basically everyday of the last 4 months) my little feets and hands get cold! But I keep going, because I love the dogs and it's a side hustle to keep helping me work towards my creative dreams. I think this is important for all of us to move forward with, especially right now in the world.

Moving around in the spaces we find ourselves, I often find my mind just existing in the moment. There is truly stillness and simplicity within all motion and activity. Comparing these themes to architecture, I like thinking of positive and negative space dynamics.

Today, I was walking around Ukrainian Village neighborhood again. I am not a Christian, or particularly interested in organized religion, but the architecture I've been exposed to here is really interesting to me. I like to think of some creatures from another planet coming here and contemplating the meaning humans ascribe our built environment. What would they make of our symbols?

And I had a lot of fun with a whole bunch of dogs today! This is simply a short post to show you all some snapshots of my day, and a couple of my thoughts along the way.

IMG_20180313_132355.jpgIMG_20180223_161350.jpg

IMG_20180313_193657.jpgIMG_20180227_131742.jpgIMG_20180313_190503.jpgIMG_20180313_162549.jpg

Wishing you all wellness and progress in your creative dreams too! What are you working on? I'd love to hear about it. I think creativity is what keeps life going, and we enhance it by sharing :)

Sort:  

Oh how cool is that, I see the dogs adore you. Stay warm taking care of those little ones. It is still cold and snowy here in western, NY too. We got 6" this morning and 4 - 5 on the way. Can't even start up my greenhouse it's so cold. Nice to find you here through Dayleos post on back pain.

No way! You're a dog walker! I was a walker during my time in NYC- and Its where i took a lot of the shots for our stock photos site nomad.pictures - stay warm! I know what it's like to be out there in ALL weather conditions <3

Thanks for the warm wishes :) :) It's been the best kind of challenge this winter ;) And yeah taking pictures and walking dogs seem to go hand in hand really well. I've been thinking about different ways I can incorporate the permacultural principle of "Stacking Functions" while I'm out and about (and while the Spring still slowly wakes up here). So much to observe always! It's been cool to notice how the wind moves through the city, how light changes the experience of different neighborhoods, things like that. And thanks for stopping by to say hi! I'm enjoying what you have been posting and curating.

There's nothing like being on the ground like that, I know exactly what you mean. Ive lived outside NYC for all my life but seeing it through pounding the pavement nearly 12 miles a day really caused me to take notice of little things I would have never noticed otherwise.

Stacking is for sure the way to go, finding flow in what you do so your energy goes a long way is key!

thanks @sunscape, wishing you warmness soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68