Dolls makeover and upcycled

in #creativity6 years ago

image.png
While I lived in my other town, there was a lady who was "making under" bratz dolls. She was basically taking the doll wiping off the face and repainting them so they look like regular little girls. I absolutely adored them, and thought to myself that's seems like a fun project that I would like to try.
So I waited patiently for the littles to grow into an age where they would actually be interested in playing with dolls. This was the week that I chose. I bought two bratz dolls for a dollar apiece at our local thrift store, took them home and gave them a good scrub.
The next day, I wiped the face off with nail polish remover image.jpeg
and then I started on the hair. My youngest granbaby is a mass of curls, so what I did is twisted sections till they twisted on top of it self, so it looked like this image.jpeg
Then I tied rubber bands around the knots. Then dip the head into very hot water and swoosh it around so all the hair is immersed for about a minute. Take it out let cool for 30 seconds and then redo for another minute. Take it out and plunge into very cold water to set it. Dry with towel, take rubber bands off, and start untwistg hair, you'll end up with gorgeous curls.
The dolls are only 10 inches so I used a very small brush to paint the faces, my only mistake was I didn't use good quality brushes so they ended up a bit streaky. I think I'm going to do another set and try good quality brushes and see if it will make a difference. Oh and I'm definitely going to do it on a sunny day. I did these on a cloudy day and I can see all my mistakes now plus I'm blind as a bat ugggg. All in all still pretty pleased with how they turned out. I ordered their outfits on eBay only the pink one came in, still waiting for the other one.
I also bought a product called oogoo which is a mouldable silicone that you then let dry and it hardens, so I made gumboots for the girls and a pair of crocs for each of them as well.
image.jpeg
This was such a fun project, I let my inner child out and it felt good to be able to be able to play with dolls again. I'm definitely making more of them
image.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh, what a great idea! These are adorable, and I'm sure the girls will love them. I think we should all play with "toys" occasionally, lol.

It was so much fun, and relaxing and nothing caught on fire! So win/ win 😁

Congratulations @miryana! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63