Monster Within – hand printed on fiber based silver gelatin paper

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

16” x 20” (40.64 x 50.80 cm)

Year: 1994

This is a traditional double exposure and turned into a negative in the darkroom printing process.

Here is the story behind this image:

I first took photos of clouds and then rolled the film back to the beginning. I then took some self-portraits with my cast teeth. After developing the negative film, I made a 16 x 20 inches print on fiber based paper. The next day I took the photo and turned it over to press it onto another sheet of fiber archival based paper using heavy glass to produce a negative. This was done using just the light from the enlarger. I then developed it like a regular photo.
The photo was untitled for a while but then a friend told me that it looked like a monster. That’s how I came-up with the name for this photo.

(I put my name in the middle to protect it against image theft on the internet. It is not on the original).

Sort:  

Congratulations @lhkent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank You :)

My first post got barely noticed :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43