Repairing my car seat with 3D printed parts

in #creativity6 years ago (edited)

3D printing replacement parts

bracket.png

I recently busted the plastic cover that runs along the side of my drivers seat. It broke a few pieces away from the bracket that screws to the seat so it couldn't be glued back together as there was nothing left to glue it to. I couldn't get a replacement part anywhere, so I made a few parts to patch it up.

The parts were printed from PLA plastic which isn't very heat resistant straight off the printer, so I baked all the parts at 60 deg C 3 times under a stainless steel bowl in the sun and they are now heat resistant enough to handle in car temps without deforming.

This is another view of the bracket that screws to the seat taken from the model I made in Onshape
bracket2.png
The next two shots are pics of the cap that I made with an interference fit so it would snap into the bracket with a firm push. It seemed like a better idea than screwing the old part to the new bracket.
plug.png plug2.png

This is the hole I had to contend with
hole.JPG

This is the new bracket fitted to the seat
bracket3.png

It worked out as planned and this is how it looks when it's back in the car.
fixed.JPG

So the 3D printer and some basic CAD skills have saved the day. I'm quite happy with how it turned out and could possibly sell the design on ebay as it's a fairly common problem and fixing it like this is much cheaper and easier than replacing the entire part that is broken. I'll probably print another one from black plastic when fastway finishes its Australian tour with the filament I ordered as it looks a bit out of place being white.

Thanks for looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84