How to be disciplined even when you don’t have discipline

in #creativity6 years ago

To accomplish your creative dreams, you need to do the work. But it’s hard to keep up the discipline day in and day out.

This is why I arrange my work according to how much discipline I have. If you take advantage of discipline when you have discipline, and protect your goals when you don’t have discipline, you can be disciplined even when you don’t have discipline.


Discipline takes mental energy. Sometimes you have the energy to have discipline, and sometimes you don’t.

For many people, this energy follows a predictable pattern. This is what my discipline looks like throughout the day.

I don’t have discipline in the morning. I have more discipline in the afternoon. I once again have less discipline in the evening.

Here’s what I do in the mornings, to protect myself from a lack of discipline:

  • I design my environment to avoid distractions. If I get distracted in the morning, it will be a disaster. With poor discipline, I can easily throw my whole day off track. I face a [blank wall] (https://medium.com/swlh/i-face-a-blank-wall-every-morning-yolo-d9b0214728eb) for the first couple of hours of the day. I wear earplugs. Also, my phone is kept far away from my work space. These ways of shaping my environment keep me from getting distracted.
  • I rely upon habits to get work done. With little mental energy in the morning, I don’t have much energy for thinking about my priorities. So, I rely on daily work habits first thing in the morning. A habit like working for an hour on my most important project, or writing a blog post makes sure I get off to a good start, which keeps me more disciplined throughout the day.
  • I follow rules to maintain my focus. When you don’t have discipline, it’s easy to make excuses for yourself that ruin your focus. I have “rules” in the morning, so my poor discipline won’t cause me to get distracted. For example, I don’t check my email until I’ve worked on my most important project. I don’t touch my phone until lunch time.
  • I do work that benefits from “wide” thinking. When you have poor discipline, you happen to also be more creative. Your mind is thinking “wide” — taking in every bit of stimulus around you. This is why I spend my mornings doing creative work. I do more creative work, and the safeguards I put in place make that work even better.

Here’s what I do in the afternoons to take advantage of my higher level of discipline:

  • I give myself more leeway in my environment. In the afternoon, I have the discipline to handle distractions. In fact, I find that busy environments even enhance some types of work that I do in the afternoon. If I forced myself to face a blank wall all day, I wouldn’t be able to keep it up. So I “treat” myself in the afternoons with a more stimulating environment, such as a coworking space or a cafe.
  • I do work that benefits from “narrow” thinking. Since I’m more disciplined in the afternoons, I do better at tasks that require “narrow” thinking. If I need to edit an article or crunch some numbers in a spreadsheet, I’m better off doing it in the afternoon.

Here’s what I do in the evenings to protect myself from a lack of discipline (and to ensure I have more discipline the next day):

  • I follow rules to prevent unhealthy sleep hygiene. Having discipline starts with healthy sleep habits. I have three “rules” that I follow that ensure I get a good night’s sleep: 1) no social media or work after 10pm 2) wear blue-blocker goggles after 10pm 3) go to bed no later than midnight.
  • I use rituals to motivate healthy behavior. It’s hard to follow rules if doing so is unpleasant. If I can’t follow the rules, I won’t sleep well. Rituals are “triggers” that help me enjoy following the rules. After I turn off social media at 10pm, I put some essential oil in a diffuser, I dim the lights, and I read. I love performing these rituals, so it makes it easy to follow the rules.

My discipline doesn’t only fluctuate throughout the day. It also fluctuates throughout the week. Here’s how my discipline changes throughout the week:

I have lots of discipline early in the week — peaking slightly on Tuesdays. I have very little discipline later in the week.

Here’s what I do early in the week to take advantage of my higher level of discipline:

  • I work on bigger creative projects. Big creative projects take a lot of discipline. There are lots of unknowns, and progress is slow. So, it takes discipline to execute these projects. I spend Mondays and Tuesdays focused on bigger projects, such as books.
  • I spend time planning and prioritizing. Being a creative entrepreneur requires you to regularly put on your executive hat. When you have discipline, you can think more clearly about priorities, deciding what is important, and what is not important. I’ll often spend a Monday thinking only about higher-level things and planning what I’ll do in coming weeks.
  • I follow rules to make the most of my energy. You want to use your best energy for your most important work. I have rules that keep unimportant things from taking away from my best energy: 1) I don’t work on my podcast on Mondays and 2) I don’t take meetings on Mondays or Tuesdays. My podcast uses repeatable processes, so doesn’t require as much discipline. I rarely have a meeting that is worth missing out on my most-disciplined energy. If it’s really important, I’ll make an exception.

Here’s what I do late in the week to make the most of my low level of discipline:

  • I work on repeatable processes. I’ve been running my podcast long enough that the processes are repeatable. It doesn’t take much discipline for me to follow a
    checklist.
  • I do my less-important work. Some work needs to get done, but isn’t my most important work. Later in the week is reserved for administrative things like compiling reports or paying bills.
  • I have meetings. I rarely have a meeting that is critical to my most important work. Yes, podcast interviews are important, but they are more exploratory and I have somewhat of a system for them. I also find doing interviews to be stimulating and recharging, so they help replenish my waning discipline later in the week.

Pay attention to when you have little discipline, and to when you have more discipline. If you arrange your work accordingly, you can be disciplined even when you don’t have discipline.

What do you do to take advantage of high discipline? And to protect yourself from low discipline?

Sort:  

This is a great post. @yasminep - I think you will love this too considering you've just wrote posts around motivation and not beating yourself up. Seems like discipline is everything!

Also love your tips on sleeping better, I want to try and get into a similar routine, especially with not using my phone an hour or so before bedtime. I once challenged myself for half h and think I lasted 2 weeks. Lol

Is the easiest thing to keep your phone in a separate room would you say? Or maybe turn it off all togethers and go back to an old school alarm clock? :-)

Nice spot, Ings! @kadavy i'll be following you from now on ;-) Love the way you write and seems we share a lot of similar processes.

Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing @ingaa, and I'm glad you enjoyed it, @yasminep.

To stay off the phone, I think it's important to have something else you enjoy more – a ritual like my reading and aromatherapy.

I definitely don't allow my phone in the bedroom. At 10pm I silence it and put it face down on my dining table, far away from my bedroom and the couch I read on. If I need an alarm, I use my Amazon Echo, or my iPad, on which I don't allow messaging or social media apps.

That's really the way to do it. It also means your phone is not what you're looking at first thing in the morning when you wake up. I really should try this out.

Yeah I don't touch my phone from 10pm until the next morning after I've worked a couple hours.

Yes, I agree. How you start off is so important. I think the best indicator for a productive day is if you're in a position where you're already started on work by the time your peak discipline kicks in. If I fall behind, I find myself doing daily routines at peak discipline, which is a waste. I want to be at the point in my day when I have to push myself when I have the discipline to do it. I think that's why routines are so important.

Great article!

I agree, you definitely need to be disciplined in order to be productive in life. I can't live a day without my morning ritual. It really sets the day! I choose the tasks for the day by tackling the biggest one first and take small healthy breaks after each task. In the evening, I also like to turn off the computer and mobile around 9:30 pm and relax with a good read and herbal tea before going to sleep.

Amazing article, what have motivated you to beginn this process?

Thank you for the great tips :) Getting a good night's sleep is my biggest struggle right now. I often distracted myself with my phone / laptop before falling asleep which results in me sleeping to little.

Think you'll try a rule and ritual? I silence my phone and put it face down on a table for the night. It's not allowed in my bedroom. Same thing with computer – can't touch it two hours before bed. And of course the rituals make those rules easier to follow because I love my reading time.

Do you know what you might try?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68008.50
ETH 3261.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66