Creative processes - going with the flow

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Ok. So let's start out with a confession. I find it hard to pin down my "creative process", because in all honesty I don't really have one, a process. It's all a bit chaotic and random, I find my most productive episodes are brief and usually to some degree pressured. By pressured I mean there's a specific amount of time I allot myself. If I don't do this I find I just drift and don't get anything done. Maybe it's something you could try too if you're a creative person. By all means take time, but don't waste time.

A lot of creative people talk about flow, it's that moment where you're completely focused and everything fits, snapping naturally into place, like it's meant to. Some people talk about feeling like they're guided by an invisible hand, they're inspired.

I find the flow concept very interesting, I'm not willing to discard it as pseudo science when I have my own experience to guide me. It seems to work for me personally, and that's great.

Here's a quick video from Jason Silva to explain what I'm talking about : 

There's also videos and information about hacking your flow state. I'm not sure I even need to be that scientific about things, just the focus of trying to achieve something in say one evening, two hours or even 30 minutes (depending on the goal) is usually enough for me.

It doesn't always work, but for the most part it's effective. I get lost in time when I have too much of it, and I'm easily distracted and I think being at ease with those two facts helps me stay on point.

So I wonder how many other Steemians find their flow? How do you do it? Do you find it's easy to get into a project, are you a meticulous planner or do you literally go with the flow?

Kevin (1/3 of GhostK)

www.youtube.com/ghostkollective
www.facebook.com/ghostkollective
www.twitter.com/ghostkollective
www.soundcloud.com/ghostkollective

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66844.99
ETH 3499.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69