DIY Tool Rest Post for Antique Craftsman Wood Lathe

in #creativity7 years ago

I love a good antique machine, especially when the price is amazing, but sometimes finding the accessories that fit is difficult or super pricey. This summer I found a Craftsman Wood Lathe, from around the 1950s, for $125 on Craigslist. It is beautiful, came on its own stand with well crafted drawers, complete with caster wheels, motor, a few accessories and a set of turning tools. Such a steal!

lathe pic.jpg

I began a small practice turn piece and realized I was going to need a smaller tool rest. The one that came with the lathe is 12” long and I was trying to turn a short piece of wood, to not a very large diameter. I could not get the tool rest close enough to the piece because it was hitting the headstock and tailstock. The post hole on this antique lathe is ⅞” which is not a common post size these days. You can find them, but the price jumps astronomically. I found that Nova sells their tool rests separate from the posts, so you can mix and match to the right sizes of both that you need. I can’t remember if Nova had a post that was ⅞” or not but I do remember that no matter where I looked, the price was more than I was willing to pay. I ordered a 4” tool rest from Nova and set out to find the right size metal stock to make my own post for my new tool rest.
I am pleased with how it turned out and now I can buy any size tool rest I may need from Nova and then just screw it down onto my DIY post. I hope this might help someone else in the same pickle I found myself.
Thanks for checking out my post!

Sending you all my love, peace, and positive vibrations!
Namaste’

Sort:  

WOW! Brilliant for sure - saving money is always a plus and I love how you find ways to construct your own solutions instead of being forced to pay the high prices for other custom pieces that manufacturers want to charge so much for because they know in the long term, they will probably not seel many of those units. Great job - very informative too - I love seeing all your creative endeavors! Love it!

Hello there. Among the vast variety of tools, there is a name that resonates with both professionals and hobbyists: Craftsman. Founded nearly a century ago, Craftsman has carved out a formidable niche with a legacy of precision, durability, and innovation. No matter what kind of work you need to do, they have a tool that will suit you, and if you couldn’t find something suitable for yourself, then a craftsman customer service employee will definitely help you choose and recommend the best tool for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54