You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scriptwriting For Television: Are You Good Enough? (Episode 1)

in #creativity7 years ago

I've always been curious about how that works. When a fantastic show gets cancelled after only one season while a 'less fantastic' show goes on and on, it makes me wonder about the great scripts that never get filmed. My tastes in television may be a little odd though.

Sort:  

Believe me you're not alone elementum. Some shows will make it on screen because the scriptwriter managed to get it to someone who had influence and the ability to push it, the show could be utter crap though. Sadly it doesn't matter. Conversely there are amazing scripts out there gathering dust on shelves.

Would there be any way to create a blockchain based version of Netflix where the scripts that should have been made can be crowd-funded to life? I don’t have the tech know-how to decide if that’s feasible or not.

It's an interesting thought. However, in this business reputation is everything and no matter how good your script is if you're an unknown then your script will rarely attract money. However, that said it's not impossible. I know many films that have made it into production with crowdfunding but very few television programmes have been crowdfunded into production.

I see your point. Gatekeepers have a way of killing the creativity in any industry. I'll be monitoring for changes from the sidelines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44