I Draw Street Fighter Ryu: Process - Learn to Draw With Friends

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Drawing Ryu from Street Fighter (with time-lapse gif and pictures). Ryu is a wise young fighter with strong ethic and sportsmanship, so let's dedicate this post to the sporting wisdom of Ryu!


 In my previous process posts I started by working from a grid. While this is usually faster and reduces the number of errors I wanted to give myself the challenge of drawing the picture fully freehand.


"Your strength is equal to that of your will to win!" - Ryu

 I began by very roughly sketching out the upper section of Ryu's body, trying to keep everything the proper size and placement.


 Then I roughed in the bottom half. There are lots of errors already but the important part is just keeping going and getting it basically the right shape.

"Sometimes the most important battle, is the battle within..." - Ryu

 I added in his headband and added some more muscle lumps on his arms where it didn't look like the proper shape.


 Still working with a number 2 pencil I started doing some basic rough shading on his arms, gi, gloves and face.

"Don't fight for victory--fight to improve yourself. Victory will come." - Ryu

 Once I was more or less happy with the muscles on his arms I lightly shaded them in with a darker 4B pencil.


"You must love competition before you can achieve victory." - Ryu

 Then a smudge stick to soften the shading and mute the white highlights.


 and more shading... Now I'm taking more note of the very specific placements of muscles and how all the parts line up and come together. I did some more shading with a number 2 pencil on his gi and redrew his nose, eyes and brow since it was slightly out of position.

"The only way a true fighter can suffer, is by not fighting!" - Ryu

 When using soft pencils like 4B or 6B I like to place a piece of paper partially over the picture I'm drawing to help prevent unwanted smudges from my hand while I draw.


 At this point I took my 6B pencil which is the darkest pencil used on this picture and started filling in some details on Ryu's face, arms, gloves and all over.

"Blind pride can only hold you back. There are fighters out there stronger than the both of us!" -Ryu

 Finally I shaded in his hair with the 6B pencil and gave the whole picture a once over for any missed detail I might want to include.


"Whatever you find worthwhile in life, is worth fighting for!" - Ryu


Thanks for having a look and I hope you enjoyed it.  This drawing and process was done for the Learn to Draw With Friends contest by @tonyR. Thanks Tony for setting it up. #ltdwf

@ckurtish

Sort:  

I shall Hadouken this post to the moon! Very well drawn!

Nice artwork I admire your creativity.... I have a son who likes to sketch and draw and he is also good 😊

This is really awesome, @ckurtish! 😲 Especially how you did his muscles -- very nice! He literally radiates spunk. Haha. Love it! 😊

ty, the muscles were very challenging. He's got attitude for sure.

damn! good shading on the arms. how did you make that gif?

I made the gif with Gimp, it's kind of like photoshop with layers and stuff. You can export your image as a gif and it will use each layer as a frame (bottom first to top). You can also move around the layers and resize them so they line up. Thanks for asking.

Awesome work! You just earned another follower here on steemit. ._.

You have done an excellent job here @ckurtish. I'm sure this post will be very helpful to others and the gif you made for the post is fantastic mate. A really great way of displying the process step by step. I'm sure others will follow suit in their process posts. :)

Thanks for another excellent entry mate. I hope you are having a pleasant day my friend! :[)

The gif does add a nice visual to help show the evolution of the image. Thanks for the feedback and I hope you're also having a good day

Woah!! This is truly amazing work! You've got so much detail- you've truly got a gift! Also I chuckled at 'muscle lumps'

Ha, glad you liked it. Are you going to take another crack at it this week?

If I can find the time I might try one!! This week is kind of busy but I might need to shuffle some stuff around to make it work ;)

Really super cool!

I wonder if you might have the time to enter my latest art competition?

Hi, I'll see if I can come up with anything if I find the time. Thanks for the invite :)

Can you do a Chun Li next? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00