HOW TO: be broke and live in an awesome apartment (all at the same time)

in #creativity7 years ago (edited)

Hey there all you styling Steemians,

So, I used to study psychology, hence all the infinite wisdom which I provide to you guys. However, a year and a half ago I entered the events industry. Now, let me quickly paint you guys a little picture of what it's like to be a part of a creative industry:

You step into the office space: everyone is dressed absolutely beautifully, for starters. Also, 'the office' is no longer an empty, grey space where people in suits punch away at their keyboards; its a colourful universe which sparkles with creativity, enthusiasm, hard-work and innovation. All the walls are painted different colours, each furniture piece has been selected and styled, there is floristry and glitter everywhere...basically, you spend your day in what resembles a jewelry box.

Now, when I get home after a day of work, my environment is...well-an empty, grey space.

Guys, my apartment in Somerset West is in desperate need for some tender love and care! However, being on a budget, I can't afford to splurge on new furniture and decor items. However, I need my living environment to be more innovative and inspiring. Who's with me? Nobody wants to live in a place that looks boring-that's so, boring. So, I've thought of some tips on how to style any apartment (while being on a budget).
Please see my styling tips below (if you're interested, otherwise, carry on with what you were doing):

1. Opening your storage is a way of aesthetically displaying your stuff

Say NO to cupboards and YES to open shelves and rails! I am 100% going to recreate this look when I get home. Replace boring items on your shelf with colourful fun pieces to brighten up any space. Love.

Untitled.png

2. Mix up the way you add plants to your home

Guys, I cannot stress this enough- ADD PLANTS TO YOUR HOME. Personally, I don't know how to look after plants. Or fish. Or anything really, but please add some floristry to your living space. When I get home I'm going to buy lots of plants, a bottle of water so that I can spray them and prey that they don't die-again.

Untitled.png

3. If you're not allowed to paint the walls, paint the furniture instead

So where I live I'm technically not allowed to paint the walls. Okay okay, I'm under no circumstances allowed to paint the walls. But I love colour, so, scapegoat: bring colour through your furniture. Nailed it! (Pun kind of intended because you can hang big canvases onto your walls to bring more colour into your home).

Untitled.png

4. Add a few pieces of unconventional furniture

Broke? Go outside, pick up a tree stump and paint it white. You're welcome.

Untitled.png

5. Line the insides of your shelves with patterned fabric or wallpaper

Love. So simple yet so effective.

Untitled.png

6. Pillows can really make a difference

It's amazing how a few pillows can brighten up a room! Throw out those nasty old grey ones you got from grandma and replace them with fun, colourful and patterned pillows. You can even try and make your own if your sewing skills allow it.

Untitled.png

7. Think of different ways in which you can hang your artwork

The photos below depict cheap, easy and trendy ways of displaying some cool art. I am 100% doing this when I get home. 100%.

Untitled.png

Untitled.png

8. Throw in a colourful rug to brighten up a dull space

Simple. Yet effective.

Untitled.png

9. Not only should you organise with trays, you should also hang them on your walls

Untitled.png

Thank you so much for the read you guys, I really hope that some of these tips have inspired you. I for one am feeling completely inspired and cannot wait to get home and try out these styling secrets. So simple. So creative. Absolutely perfect. I have sourced all my images from Buzzfeed so please make sure to check them out!

Sort:  

love the colors in these photos!

Nice details.

Stunning ideas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64839.49
ETH 3551.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32