C’EST LA VIE (2020)

in #creativewritinglast year (edited)

Left you at home to go hustling,
Told you to take care of home that I was gonna be a few days in the streets, hustling,
I’ve never had to leave home since we had Karl, since way before his christening,
But F.P had me on this job and you know F.P., one wrong move and he start threatening,
So I had to leave,
But you know I hated to leave,
You saw me cry when I held Karl, you saw my heart on my sleeve,
I told you I wasn’t going far away, that it was like being in Gaza and just going down to Tel Aviv,
I said you could invite Stacy, she could come over for play dates with baby Steve,
I remember kissing you, and just before I turned to leave,
I told you I’d be home way before New Year’s Eve.

It was the evening of Sunday, long day,
I was laid back, enjoying the wind, watching the sun go away,
Four Cousins, a blunt, and you know I always got my ash tray,
I thought of you and Karl, wondered if as usual, you had ordered some Chic-fil-A,
My heart couldn’t take it so I reached for my phone without delay,
It rang a bit then oddly, it started going straight to voice-mail,
My gut told me right away that there may be some sort of foul play,
So I hit my boy Drey up, long drive, but I needed him to go by the house right away,
Hustling in these streets, you never know who you piss off and they decide it’s doomsday,
I needed to know my family was safe and completely out of harm’s way,
And since you know Drey, you must also know he got my back any time, any day.

A couple hours later my phone started to buzz,
My boy, Drey was flipping, had to calm him down to understand the fuss,
Something about how he didn’t want to cause problems or make matters worse,
Something about a dark-skinned guy, tats, a scar to the left brow, locs,
Something about how he saw you face down, ass up while bad boy blew your back off,
And how loud he said you screamed made me wonder where exactly Karl was.

It was neither anger nor jealousy, just chest pain,
then spreading across my forehead immediately was a migraine,
Is this real or is my mind tweaking, courtesy of this strain?
I had only just left but there’s already another nigga that because of you, came.

I know you can be full of yourself sometimes, but I didn’t know you were also full of shit,
losing my mind, wondering exactly how long you’ve kept all of this discreet,
I knew you were many things, but never the one thing you know I’m repulsed by, a cheat.
my head is spinning, I matter-of-factly cannot breathe,
the supposed love of my life, the mother of my only child belongs to the streets.

IMG_7183.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80