You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creative Writing – 'Your Mother Never Did a Lot of Things'

Oh my heart aches for these children, and the Dad is just doing his best to help them, but sometimes our best only seems to traumatize more...

This was very real to me, your writing and the emotions. I haven't read the previous episodes, so I don't know what happened to the mom, but your writing really drew me into the emotions of growing up in this type of home, separated, angry, resentful.

Steem on! I love the chapter at a time type writing here ;)

Sort:  

Hi @ecoinstant. I am so thankful that you understand the message I was attempting to convey. I do believe that with these types of family situations becoming more and more common these days, it is important to explore how parents cope, and how they try their best to make things as easy as possible for their kids - sometimes not doing as well as they would like.

If you don't mind me asking, do you personally know of this type of experience? I do have memories of certain things when I thought one parent or another (I had 4) was a monster, and thinking back I can see that they were just working hard trying to do their best....

Well, I haven't experienced the exact situation that Derek and his kids are in. My parents are still together and happy (they've had arguments from time to time over the years, of course, but nothing major) and I don't have kids myself, so when I write about the general theme of parenthood, or what it's like to be a parent, I really have to dig into the reserves of my imagination. It's a strange thing: even though I don't have kids, I don't find it difficult to tap into the emotions that might be associated with having them. Sometimes, when I reflect on why that is, I have a sense of moments and experiences that have nothing to do with my current life, but that seem to be linked with me nevertheless. They're just vague impressions of having been a mother or a father at some point in time: nothing clear enough for me to describe in great detail. Not everyone believes in the whole concept of reincarnation, of course - that's a whole other subject! Anyway, I believe that no matter what the truth behind that is, the most important thing we can ever focus on is the here and now.

To summarise: I think that regardless of whether it's all in my head, or whether I do have some subconscious memories of having been a parent, there is something in me that can deeply relate to the emotions associated with it: struggling to know what is best for your kids, doing the very best you can with that knowledge, and learning how to own up to your mistakes and improve the way you communicate with them. I'm glad my writing gives me an outlet for all that. 😊

What a fantastic story! Thank you for sharing that all with me, I do tend to think that there is some connection with the 'universal spirit', whether it is a strict reincarnation of a discreet soul or a 'mixing' of energies, so to speak, or something else or in the middle, I (of course) cannot say, but connect we can do!

Parenting is a powerful part of life, and important, and its very interesting and very promising that you connect so strongly with it in your writing! May you help us all be better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73