MilestonessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativecrypto6 years ago (edited)

Don't we all just love those special milestones - some we can't remember; like when we took our first baby steps. Our parents will certainly remember as that is when they started putting everything and anything that was precious and could break, out of harm's way.

Mandy bust.jpg

So I reached a very special milestone here on Steemit last night - the magic number of 60 - to me it felt like I'd come of age, almost a big fish, but not quite!

Fish.jpg

Many of my special Steemian friends have passed the Big Five some time back and are also nearing their sixties :)
I think my very good friend @sultnpapper is right on my tail!

BigFive1.jpg

I blindly joined last year in July on my son @deanoza's prompting (you won't find him active here at all these days). Not knowing anything about cryptos but having a love for blogging and taking photos, many subjects came to mind; airbnb'ing, food, health, travel and life in general.
But I felt very lost here with all these strangers around - thank goodness my son could guide me in the beginning. When he moved away from Steemit, my nephew @therneau was my mentor, so thank you to him :)

Masks.jpg

I had a lot to say, but soon found what my real passion was - food blogging!

Marilyn.jpg

I've always loved a challenge and soon started entering the Sandwich Contest run by the fabulous @jaybird, that was at Week #19 with my Christmas Tree Stack which won that week's contest. I do not like making plain old sandwiches so always try and think of something different and it's quite amazing where ones imagination can take you once you get going:)

Pizza Apple Christmas tree.png

I've met the most amazing people here on Steemit; one that stands out is the very kind author @ericvancewalton who always is there encouraging with his beautiful poetry and stories. Eric gifted me with his fabulous book on meditation, The Perfect Pause. I was super excited when it arrived in the mail, and I must add it was amazing that it came at just the right time in my life as I had been going through some difficulties. Meditation is the most powerful tool and gift you can give yourself, check out his blog and be inspired!

Perfect pause front.jpg

I love entering the weekly food contests - #steemitsandwichcontest, #steemkitchen, #cookwithus and of course #steemit-ironchef which is taking a break at present.

The contests are great for growth as we are challenged to create better posts as we compete and learn from our fellow contestants. I salute all the wonderful people running the contests; @jaybird, @freetissues, @chefsteve, @offoodandart, @pandamama & @progressivechef; all working hard trying to get sponsors with some of them sponsoring the contests all on their own, not easy now that Steem is so low, but they do it!

Lion.jpg

There is amazing interaction between everyone in the various communities with friendly vying for that main prize, thank you to all my special foodie friends for your friendship as well, I really treasure that!

6VvuHGsoU2QBt9MXeXNdDuyd4Bmd63j7zJymDTWgdcJjnzfJ3Hcqq2iU1p1qeNypTBbonxZRVZcitni5Wc24J2nMWnwS4BS9VRZ2PNsPNndVLfjn7u69W4FZtauZSn~3.jpeg

I would highly recommend that any new steemians look out for contests here on Steemit in whatever field they enjoy - it's not just about winning, it's about growth on the platform and meeting great people - kindred spirits I call them!
Have a look at the Discord channels as there's more direct contact there and you can drop your post links there as well.

JamesMarilyn.jpg

So whether Steem goes up or down, I'm here for the long run and hope to see my next big milestone one of these days and be the king of Rock!

Elvis.jpg

MirrorBlueDetail.png.jpg

NOTE
All the art shared here is the work of my super talented sister in law, Mandy Saunders, whose head is always in the clouds and way too busy creating new artwork, so I've been unable to get her onto Steemit, but am showcasing some of her work here with my Steemit big 60 celebration!

Happy Thanksgiving to all my friends celebrating this day tomorrow :)

Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Comments, upvotes & resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone


Steem Kitchen.gif
SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Don't let Mrs. Papper know I am chasing your tail or I am going to be in some big trouble. I am closing in on that sixty number though and hope to be sharing it soon with you and a few others who are really close friends on here as well. The folks are @thekittygirl and @bigtom13 , both great people and I look as forwarded to them reaching that number as I do myself. So congrats Lizelle and be ready for some company we three are coming right behind you.

There I get into trouble again with our South African interpretation of phrases ;);)
@natubat and @birdsinparadise are both almost there too!

WoooooHooooo. I'm about 0.8 behind you, don't bother waiting until I catch up.

Good on you Lizelle. You are one of those people around here that I really enjoy seeing!

Same sentiments right back to you @bigtom13, your growth is phenomenal! You'll be overtaking me soon;)

Congrats my dear friend! An exciting celebration and milestone, certainly well deserved. Your hard work and perseverance has definitely paid off! On to the big 70 now! Cheers to another great year! Glad to get to know you my fellow food blogger!

Ah thank you, I'm so thankful to know you as well my friend! Hope you're having a lovely Thanksgiving holiday:)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 319 (11/22/18)

I love your sister in law's pictures and especially the way you write. Words trip off your tongue. Well done on your 60.
I'm new on Steemit and thought at first it was your 60th birthday!
Does the value of your vote increase at 60 compared with someone lower down the scale?
If you are prepared to tell me how to get a photograph from an email onto a blog I would appreciate that. Just asking!
Thank you

Hi @justjoy, that's only an indication of one's reputation. I try and post at least 3 times a week, wish I had more time! Having more steempower is what makes one's upvotes higher, so I power up all the time. I will copy how @kittygirl explained how one builds up reputation here on steemit.
About photos, you have to download it from your email onto your laptop or phone, will likely be stored in the downloads folder.
Good idea if you use your cellphone for photos, to go to the settings and let all photos taken with phone camera be stored on google photos. Much much easier as you can't lose your photos ever.
Here's what @kittygirl said:

One mostly gains reputation points here when folks with higher-rep upvote your posts. Only a very small percentage of it comes from authoring posts and commenting/upvoting others' posts. I know several people who joined the site months after we did who have a 60-rep-or-higher because they've been rubbing shoulders with dolphins & whales. A couple of them only make two or three posts per month, but their high-payouts on those posts earn them several times over what you and I earn in a month here. Some of the attention from whales & dolphins is accidental (the result of the subject of their posts, which attracted bigger players), but some of it was intentionally done to boost themselves faster.

Thank you for your time and trouble.
It is a big 'sea' out there and talk of whales and dolphins makes sense. There are always those BIG FISH wherever one is I guess. Actually as a south coast dweller I am glad to be out of the 'fish race' as it were! I realise as a newbie that I have a lot to learn.
All best to you.

Congratulations on this milestone @lizelle! I’m so glad you found Steemit!

Thank you @ericvancewalton and so am I, truly thankful :)
Happy Thanksgiving to you and your wife :)

Welcome to the "almost" big fish club dear Lady Lizelle. The nice thing is that we did it the hard way, not bots, no buying of votes and only by means of good quality content. Congratulations and celebrations!

Ah thank you @papilloncharity, definitely no bot buying, just hard work & support from wonderful friends like yourself :) Much enjoyment along the way!

Great that you found your way here, share and have found a passion, which you really excel in, yes your food preparation blogging is amazing.

Wishing you a wonderful new year ahead, look forward to seeing more @lizelle

BirthdayWishes.png

Ah thank you @joanstewart, it's my steemit big 60, I'm already well into the 60s in age ;);) Won't tell you just how much though ;)

Congratulations! that milestone means a lot, at least it did for me. Everybody told me how after 60, the number is harder to rise but I found that it was easier. I hope that happens to you too, you sure deserve it!

Ah thank you @zen-art, but your writing is on another level, amazing stuff!
Just happy to be here and to have crossed paths with wonderful people like yourself!

My friend how are you? It is always a pleasure to say hello and to know about grandma

The photos you show are some works of art, they are beautiful

Ah thank you @jennimorillo, lovely seeing you here xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59