My Entry for Crypto Art & Design Challenge Round 7: STEEM!

in #creativecrypto6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Crypto art & Design Challenge round 7: Steem.

may9steemlogocontest.jpg

I entered a quick drawing watercolour yesterday for the #sndbox contest and wasn't happy with it. So, I finished my original idea which was to use John Singer Sargent as my inspiration.

I had sketched out the idea loosely based on his Madame X painting and began working on it. Then I thought I'd not have enough time to make it presentable. But, after looking at the image I shared yesteday, I just wasn't happy with it.

I knew in the Madame X the background was mainly one tone so I knew I could not worry about too much detail. Instead I chose to use a bit of the table that Madame X leans on in the original painting and to place a painterly Steemit Symbol.

As the dress is mainly a study in black with just a hint of skin tone, I decided to also add the logo into her hair. My madame X is of course much more clothed then the original, but I wanted to simply play on his painting as that was the point of the Steemit logo contest in the first place.

You can go here to see and enter the contest sponsored by #sndbox.

Sort:  

OOOooooh I love it, you are one talented lady holy hannah!!!!!

Aw, thanks. :)

Beautiful! And created so quickly as well! You really do amazing work; I feel I learn so much from you:)

Well it was about a week. I just hadn't finished it up and was going to add wallpaper with the logo etc, but I was so not happy with my other piece, that I worked on it and gave it a more simple look. Sometimes, not being happy with another piece is a good motivator to work all day on something :) And it was tiny, it had to be 1000 x 600 so I just made it at 2000 x 1200 then shrunk it.

quite a successful participation dear friend!
I hope you will be selected to sndbox!

Me too and thank you.

I love this one a lot @donnadevisart, despite your saying, and detail in her hair is cherry on top :)
Very good work and like step from your usual art.

It is a very creative and thoughtful piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50