San Diego Mission Dam

Today I took a short hike out at the San Diego Mission Dam. The purpose of my hike was to take pictures of edible and medicinal plants in their natural setting, and I got quite a bit of that accomplished.

I also took a few other beautiful photos that I feel would work well for the #creativecomp tag...

Dam!20170702_152256.jpg

The San Diego Mission Dam developed this hole after a severe storm nearly 100 years ago, it was never filled in ...

California's Precious Little Water20170702_153643.jpg

The flow of the San Diego "River" is mostly subterranean from Mount Cuyamaca to the Pacific Ocean. This faint trickle, while beautiful, shows the extreme scarcity of water in the deserts of Southern California.

Original photographs by @timeshiftarts (Beau Beach) at Mission Trails Regional Park.

Sort:  

Gorgeous photos and love the concept of searching out edible and medicinal plants in their habitat- what spurred your interest in that idea?

I studied wilderness survivalism as a teen(I wanted to get out of an abusive situation) which grew into a love for finding out how things in nature work and how to survive without the conveniences of civilization (should a need ever arise). I developed so much of a love for it that I still do research and share my findings with others.

I'll be making several posts about it over time, along with my varied other interests.

Wow, what a fantastic and one-of-a-kind hobby. I love that. Really glad you found something you love, even if it was an abusive situation that led to the discovery.

Dibs on joining your group during the zombie apocalypse! :)

Very tiny trickles ... and some pretty full reservoirs after this winter ;)

Hiii.. I sani, plz see my account @kakilasak
I hope u can follow me n upvote my post :)

Hi! I would love to take a look at your blog. You will get much better responses from people if you take a few minutes to read their posts and say something about it that you like. If English isn't your first language, that's ok, write in the language you're comfortable with and I'll use Google Translate.

Tq for ur suggestion..
I am Indonesian, I use Google translate for my english post :)

Nice pictures, I’m following you now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75