Creative Challenge - Task # 7 - Here's a Lil' Diddy

The challenge continues, task # 7 has us finishing a story of love. Come join us in @steemfluencer's creative writing challenge!

Here's a Lil' Diddy

guitar-1015750_640.jpg
image source

Adam: Charles, are we still in the hospital.

Charles: Yes sir, after my last story you fell asleep.

Adam: Good. Charles, may I share something with you? I'd like to tell about one of the girls I really fell in love with.

Charles: I'd love to hear that story sir. Let me pour you a glass of water.

Adam: Thank you Charles! You are so kind. So, here we go. I was 22 years old only. The last time I fell in love was maybe 8 years ago. ...

I had bought my first real six string over at the five and dime, played it till my fingers bleed. It was the summer of 69.

Charles: Errr...Sir, isn't that a song?

Adam: Haha, yes it is Charles. I was just having a little fun with you. I digress....

It was my senior year at University when I met Eva. The moment I saw her I was smitten. It was somewhat odd, she had a quirky look too her but for some reason I found it irresistible.

We were both at a mixer for associated fraternity and sorority that neither of us were a part of. It was the same story for both of us. She had a close girlfriend that was a part of the sorority, but she had no desire herself to actually be obligated to it and it was the same for me with the fraternity.

Maybe that is what made it easy for our conversation to take off. I had approached her and asked how long she'd been part of the sorority and it was at that point we both realized neither of us was a member of the chapters.

We talked for hours that night and she gave me the phone number to her dorm room.

On the way back to my dorm, my buddy looked at me and said "looks like you had some fun tonight."

Indeed I did. He mentioned that he briefly chatted with her friend and they both agreed that the two of us were goo-goo over one another.

I remember have the biggest smile on my face the rest of the night.

Eva and I hung out the very next night and nearly every night for the next two weeks. We quickly fell into a committed relationship and dated the remainder of the school year.

Charles: What happened when the school year ended, sir?

Adam: That's when things got tricky. We were very much in love and had been dating more than 6 months at that point.

However, I had gotten offered a good job back home about 500 miles away from the university. Eva, was a junior so she would be there the next year, which was good considering she lived even further away from me than the university was.

So that was the plan. I'd come visit her at least one weekend a month during that school year and she planned to come down for one of the shorter holiday breaks as opposed to going back home.

Things were fine at first, but the distance began to wear on us a bit. Toward the end of her school year we talked about her possibly moving down my way.

It all really depended on the job she got. She pursued some in my area, but there was an opportunity not far from where she grew up that was potentially on the table.

Sure enough, that opportunity played out. It was everything she had worked toward the past four years so I toll her she had to take it. Don't worry about me, we will figure it out.

We continued to date for six more months, but the distance was making our relationship fall apart.

Charles: Was that the end of the relationship for the two of you, sir?

Adam: Not quite Charles. I considered relocating near her. At that point I had more than a year of experience in my job so getting another one due to relocation was very feasible. However, I did love where I was and was exceling quickly.

The trajectory of my career was pretty clear and I did not know if it was something I wanted to walk away from. Once, my boss got weird that I was looking to relocate, you made an offer for me to head a brand new department they were creating.

They were looking for a young innovative person to change things up. It is that position that led to me eventually starting my own company and having the financial success that I now have.

It was also the straw that broke the camel's back. As soon as I took that position, it was clear there was no reason for Eva and I to continue the relationship.

Over the years, I have had relationships with some good women. However, it was never the same as it was with Eva.

I often wonder what life would be like had I just moved to her and took a job in that area.

Would I have had even close to as much success? Would I still be with Eva, would we have a family?

The money affords me a good life, Charles, but sometimes I wonder if I'd have been happier with Eva even if it meant living a meager life with a typical 9 to 5 job.

Charles: Wow sir, I never knew that about you. One can never really know how things would have played out.

Adam: No Charles, certainly cannot.


Steemit_txtdvidr.png

Regards,
Mitchell Jaworski

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ScaredyCatGuide from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

nice story and good post

Well written.

@mitchelljaworski, of course I realized that announcing the next task without warning that it will continue the events from the previous task isn't the best approach.

There's something that makes me feel optimistic about a future initiative - a challenge that only outlining the story line and you have the freedom and control on developing the character overcoming various situations or few main obstacles. I just need a bit more feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68918.37
ETH 3764.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43