CreativeComp submission #1 original art work

in #creativecomp7 years ago

Years ago, in high school, Art Class was one of my most important classes, it gave me a different way, aside from ♫Music♪♫ to express myself.
I especially loved to sketch; pencil on paper, using my fingertip for shade variation and smoothing, really allowed me to 'get into' the art, whereas putting a paintbrush in my had separated me from the work.
I can't explain it better than that.
I experimented with 'Oil Pastels', with some success, but just as some prefer B&W Photography for some subjects, I still liked my pencil and paper.
SO...on to my entry.
I had an inspiration (back in high school) for this work, a sketch of Jesus, standing outside the tomb, village in the distance with the three crosses, angel inside the tomb, woman outside adoring Him, and a stream flowing over the rocks.
I worked on it for months, once I had all the elements in place, gradually adding to or editing what was there.
My art teacher entered it in a competition at Ga Southern College (now University) in Statesboro.
I won first place.
I carried that sketch around in a sort of portfolio for years, but during a forced eviction by a 'CHRISTIAN' landlord, all my sketches were destroyed.
I tried to recreate it in pencil, but couldn't get it going (too painful I suspect).
I did get THIS bit down in oil pastel on paper.
So this crude artwork and my story are my entries.
IMG_20170725_120017[1].jpg

Sort:  

Love this a lot! Anymore hidden talents my friend?

Depends on how much you already know @coquiunlimited.

I'm a CNA, (Certified Nursing Assistant), I'm a skilled painter (as in, painting walls and trim), I play guitar, piano, a little harmonica, I read music very well. I studied yoga many years ago, I sketch, write poetry, sing and play for senior citizens.

Aha! So you're an entertainer! See? I didn't know all these other things. You can entertain while taking care of a person in an emergency great! I'll be taking notes whom I will want along if there's an emergency! You'll be on my top three! 😉

Here is me, singing to "Strangers in the Night" by F Sinatra yesterday at Atria West Cobb (I MAKE NO CLAIM TO OWNERSHIP OF THIS SONG!!!) @coquiunlimited
Since I use a wireless mic, I can walk around and 'sing to the ladies', which they love. It allows me to interact with my audience, well you'll see.
https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=pkceotGxGUc

I had a CNA job last year at the Georgian Terrace Hotel on Peachtree Street in Atlanta Ga. @coquiunlimited
Due to the fact that "the Donald" was having a rally at the Fox Theater (right across the street) they were going to close the street, so I went early.
Having lots of time to kill, I found a piano in an otherwise deserted side lobby, and with permission from the front desk, I played a few songs.
An employee came up and asked if she could video me, and I said yes if she would send it to me.
Shortly after this, security came and said someone upstairs had complained that it was too early for piano music (it was about 9 AM) so I quit.
Here I am in my green Scrubs, playing "The Maple Leaf Rag" by Scott Joplin.
I do not own this song, THIS IS ME COVERING THE SONG in a LIVE recording.

https://www.youtube.com/edit?o=U&video_id=Q1hg4P5GYCc

That's good stuff! Thanks for tagging the OHB @jerrytsuseer! :-)

Thank you @robyneggs. Tagging OHB has become habit for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50