Creative Comp Entry #1: Chains

Thought I'd try my hand at poetry for this one. This is a poem that kind of describes my life as a growing Christian woman and the struggles I came from. I also shot the photo with a Canon 40D. Here goes:

CHAINS

These chains are strong, yet I am weak.
I am waiting for something to speak.

A heavy hold, but how to let go?
My mind doesn't seem to know.

Days, months, and years go past,
Will these chains forever last?

Begging and pleading for Your help,
all while thinking of myself.

One day a realization, it is You that I need.
You that I want, You who will feed.

Growing in strength, the journey is long,
But still these chains remain strong.

Willing to trust, willing to love,
You have given us your blood.

The chains finally break. I am set free.
Free to be who You planned for me to be.

IMG_6570.JPG
IMG_6571.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by inkatieskitchen from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Very nicely done!!! For a peak into the poetry side of things, I would say you did an excellent job! The last two lines of the poem... did it for me :D

Thank you so much!

Great poem, and I think many Christians can relate to this. We all have those chains that have been broken by Jesus, yet we hold onto them despite being set free. Once we trust in Him, then we are able to let go and fulfill our purposes He has for us!

And it's amazing the difference it can make in a person!

Good work here! Nice pacing, good rhythm and word choices. I like it! As someone else mentioned, the wrap-up was well done at the end!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54