Sonnet: The Fleeing Damsel

in #creativecomp7 years ago

Thanks @sammosk for this contest. Here is my entry.

76784d26ec5b68ff39a2af8d3453a6d4.jpg
Image source

"Oh Love! thou hath done to me this cruel pain
My fragile being: the whole, cut into shreds.
I tried evading its torture again
Drowning in painful tears; my eyes bleed red.
In abeyance, its throb came on knocking
Relish in its joy, it rocked off the wall.
Thy claws took the chunk of my soul, running
Watched blameless as thou vanished amidst all.

Love hath no love, but an obsequies vault.
He hath won thy heart, and thou punctured mine
Nay! I am strong! my flaws; true, will not fault
Solid, as a rock would remain my spine.
My love was genuine, i wished same for yours
Amiss hath my thoughts, as I'm left to sour."

Dont forget to upvote and comment. Thanks all
Follow me @gunneresq.

Sort:  

Oh my @gunneresq. What a beautiful display of creative genius!! I love it all! That is quite the intricate and well-laid out sonnet. The image really caught my attention, the b/w, contrast, layout, style, simplicity...just great!!! I'm upvoting and following you! Best of luck in this contest.

this is encouraging. i highly appreciate. all the best too

You're welcome and thank you for providing something worth really appreciating! <3

This is a Shakespearian sonnet i wrote. It is divided in two Stanzas
1st Stanza-8 Lines
2ne stanza- 6 Lines

With the rhyme scheme of ABABCDCD EFEFGG. Each line of the poem is structured in Ten syllables.

Share your opinion and thoughts on it. Thanks

Congratulations @gunneresq! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54