Song to the Siren

in #creativecomp7 years ago (edited)

Song to the Siren

Mimi stared at the sea
And said,
'It's not really me
To step in the sea,'
But the moon shone
Like pebbles
On lazy white ripples:
So Mimi couldn't help
But be tempted
To slip off her night robe
And carefully,
Lower herself
Into its waters.

The sea felt like ice,
As it rose up her legs.
Caused her to gasp
As it seeped through her bones.
Sent a chill up her spine
As it swallowed her arms,
Stole all of her breath
Then inhaled her whole.

'The sea isn't for me,'
She promised herself,
But the moon was a saucer
Of milk
And she was its cat,
And safely cocooned
In a velvet liquid
Spilt moon,
She could no more resist
Its charms
Than escape from all of the
Castaway dreams
That poor little Mimi had had.

'Hold me,'
She pleaded,
'I want to feel real,'
But the sea preferred play
To soothing her trouble,
And not caring
That Mimi was frail
As a flower,
Out of nowhere
Came a magnificent surge
Of mighty sea power,
And sweet, tragic,
Moon-bathing Mimi
Found herself rudely exhaled,
Back to the shore
And out of the sea.

My blog is story telling, often in verse, and some of which includes tales of both living with, and crushing,
seronegative arthritis. All work is original.
Follow me: (https://steemit.com/@girlwithoutwings)

Sort:  

That is an awesome poem! Great work. Good Luck!

Thank you xxx very kind :) I did wonder whether the last line should say something like 'mimi is not for me ' -
As I thought that would be quite a funny Twist. but I think I'm going to keep it as it is. more subtle. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41