A Custom Beaded Necklace I Made

in #creativecomp7 years ago

There was a woman Nyai was doing some electrical work for, and she had some stones that were special to her...so she asked me to create a necklace for her.

It seems like a good piece for #creativecomp by @sammosk :)

EqF 1cbackground.jpg

She gave me this beautiful rough cut Ruby and Clear Quartz from her home in Vietnam, and asked me to be creative and design a necklace...so I did.

First I sat with the stones and let an idea form, then sketched it out on Peyote graph paper. It actually takes alot of math to design beadwork, then alot of counting as you bead.

equinox 1c.jpg

Laying on the stones to be sure it is coming together alright...

Equinox 1a.jpg

Beading more...and deciding how to attach the quartz...

equinox 1e.jpg

Setting the ruby in place with a beaded bezel...adding the leather lace and edging...

EqF 1i.jpg

Then beading around the crystal...

EqF 1d.jpg

It took quite a while to finish, but she really loves it :)

EqF 1c.jpg

This is a {Steemit Original] All words and photos by Elew
I hope you enjoyed :)

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Elew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

The idea to put a stone very is interesting! Is is heavy?

Thanks :) It is slightly heavy, but very comfortable with the leather cord lace to hang on.

...very original idea and looks great!

you should sell them on Ebay!

Thank you :) I sell on Etsy, and occasionally add a necklace. They take a long time to make, so it is rare, but I do!

... don't be shy - place the link where you sell it from ;)

Haha, okay, but there are no necklaces there right now... https://www.etsy.com/shop/Elewmompittseh?ref=seller-platform-mcnav

Very pretty! Nice work. I always enjoyed those little bead arts. The colors are great and the stones fit well inside!

I agree, you can probably sell these pretty easily on eBay or Etsy! I know this one is special, but if you decide to design more ;)

Thanks :) Yes, we have shops on Etsy...I am going to try and set a goal for 2 art necklaces a year...

Very nice, good luck!
They take a long time to make, huh? ^^ I bet with all the intricate work!

Whoever gets those two will have something special!

Yes, with the designing, this one took 3 weeks.

I see. Great work!

Exquisite beadwork, what a joy to behold!

Thank you so much <3 I am glad you like!

I can understand why she loves it <3

Yeah, it was alot of love in the beads for sure <3

You blended them together perfectly and I know how hard it is to get it right with adding and subtracting a stone! They look and function well together! Shared to show off your work...

Yes, only another beader can truly know by seeing it <3 Thanks Weetree :)

really nicely done!

Thank you Matt :)

Whoa your work is truly beautiful! love the colors you picked, the way you
attached the crystal is really cool with the spiral above, the ruby next in line
reminds me of the sun. The peyote stitch is my fav, the way the little flowers
come out is so sweet! Thank you for showing very much enjoyed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68