The City That Never Sleeps is Taking a Nap

in #creativecoin4 years ago

Having been through this in 2010, when the Thailand Red Shirt Protests locked us down for a few weeks, this is no drama for me. At least, not mentally, but it is starting to hurt physically. Time to get active……writing.

How are you all doing? I am sure for some of you this must be purgatory. For many, I can totally imagine the mental health side of things will start to deteriorate. Perhaps that and the physical side. This is where I have lost it. Lack of activity means extra soft flabby skin bits (not easy to get rid of at 51 years of age). Sure, I can do some sit ups and press ups and other home exercises and have indeed seem some of my mates doing this. But I struggle with motivation.

So today, I have made up my mind to make a plan. 12 – 15 press ups on the hour every hour. Sit ups and crunches on the half hour every half hour. A bit of planking. Maybe some squats and hey presto, we can start to firm the body, and perhaps help the mind a little also. Indeed just the thought of doing some exercises has got my mind ticking over with stories to write, work ideas for my job which I can luckily do at home.

Our condo towers.jpg

So, what are you all gonna do about it? Have I given you any ideas, any motivation and or inspiration? What is your town/city like right now? Is it significantly different? I have been out and about a bit, as we are not full lockdown yet. I have managed to snap a few shots of places that are normally awash with people that are now dead. I have also captured some interesting views and shown a bit of our Thai/UK lifestyle here with the home cooking barbecue sort of thing.

Indoor Barbecue.jpg

Two things that I have noticed quite clearly here. 1. The skies are without doubt clearer. The view from our 17th floor balcony has changed quite a bit over the last 3 weeks. Not so much haze and dust. I am quite certain lower human movements have contributed to this. 2. It is not as hot as it normally is this time of year, not by half. As we approach Thai New Year (Songkran), temperatures would normally be 38 degree upward. I am seeing 34 – 36 every day. I have been in Thailand for Songkran season at least 15 times and never known it this cool. Could that be pollution related also?

Pollution gone.jpg

I am luckier than most. I have food, water, on-site shops to top up with and the company of a lovely lady. Many out there will be alone, some more so than ever. I spare a thought for them every day as I know only too well how loneliness can hurt. Old people who looked forward to visits from carers are most likely now getting less and less visits. Single people, especially those who maybe just broke up with a broken heart; how hard this will be for them.

Lockdown lovely.jpeg

Each day I try to remind myself how lucky I am. Often, like so many, I berate my bad luck in life when I don’t get the deal I thought I would in my work, or when my football team loses to a bad goal. But at times like this, we really do all need to take a long hard look at what we have, that many others don’t. Company, love, food water etc. Then we ought to be thinking, when this is all over how can we get together and fight to eradicate such things in this world.

No one should be without food or water. And if we all took time out to think of others, we could eradicate loneliness. Can we come out of this period and make the world a better place? Or will the fear of loss, fuel more and more selfishness and greed?

Some more pictures below of a sleeping Bangkok.

BTS Siam Empty.jpg

Our street.jpg

Sukhumvit Soi 4 Nana.jpg

PS. Great choice of movies from True Visions during this age of the Virus.

Great movie for the circumstances.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for resteeming me @aicu Much love and stay safe!

You're welcome, aicu appreciates it ;)

Although aicu isn't affected by the corona virus, but it wishes for you to stay safe as well :)

And it's interesting to see how your part of the world handles this situation, keep up the good work :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 127 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36