"Four Modal Improvisations" and "A Musical Prayer"

in #creativecoin5 years ago (edited)

This afternoon I recorded five improvisations during my breaks from practicing at the church. I put these together into two tracks and posted them on SoundCloud this evening. I would now like to share these improvisations with you and tell you a little about them.

The first track is "Four Modal Improvisations." This track features improvisations based on the four "authentic" Latin Church modes: Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, and Mixolydian.

Perhaps inevitably, these improvs were inspired by plainchant - well, certainly the Dorian and Phrygian preludes were so inspired. (Incidentally, the Dorian improvisation includes a very brief paraphrase of an ancient Greek Orthodox "Kyrie Eleison" chant.) The Lydian and Mixolydian (especially the Mixolydian) improvs are lively.

For those of you who don't have much free time to listen, I would suggest skipping to the Mixolydian improv (it's about 6'30" into the track). I was especially proud of how this improv turned out.

Regarding "A Musical Prayer" - this is, of course, a very personal work for me. Though not performed with this consciously in mind, the improv opens somberly, and the music seems to gradually move from darkness to light. Lately I have felt rather worn out and discouraged. Perhaps while performing the improv I gradually began to feel better, just as one may feel better after praying. I could have easily entitled this improvisation "Kyrie Eleison," since that sentiment is the spirit of the performance.

A link to the recording of "Four Modal Improvisations" can be found here: https://www.reverbnation.com/michaelcalabris/song/31467331-four-short-modal-improvisations

A link to "A Musical Prayer" can be found here: https://www.reverbnation.com/michaelcalabris/song/31467337-a-musical-prayer-organ

The Orthodox icon I've attached to this post is in reference to the Feast of the Holy Theophany; a feast which will be celebrated a couple days from now (on January 6th, etc.).

Baptism-Greek.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74