My version of a historic 1775-1800 era wallpaper design that I spotted in the latest Emma (2020) film

in #creativecoin4 years ago

BlushPattern.jpg

Surface pattern design is an area I'm longing to expand further into. I've licensed some of my designs before, but I'd love for it to become a regular income stream. As such, I'm taking more notice of surface design when it appears around me.

I went to see the new Emma (2020) film, which deserves its own post, as I loved it.

However, the set design needs to be mentioned for the purposes of this post. It is artistic and sumptuous. The costumes and landscapes are also breathtaking. Anyway, I noticed in one scene a striking wallpaper, in warm blush and greens.

Wallpapers with naturalistic motifs were typical in french wallpapers of the period. I did some research and found the design team sourced it from a supplier called Adelphi Paper Hangings, and the one I noticed is called 'Pearls and Parakeets'.

I decided I wanted to recreate my own version for the express purpose of studying the arabesque format and the shape of the original design that is repeated across the pattern. I find that visually fascinating.

Here is the result (above). And, once repeated (below). Isn't it divine?

BlushPattern2.jpg

The original, below, again, is called 'Parakeets and Pearls', French (Paris,) circa 1780 and is from Adelphi Paper Hangings.
image.png

Thanks for reading!


You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Sort:  

This post earned a total payout of 0.688$ and 0.344$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.

Congratulations @contrabot, you successfuly trended the post shared by @leysa!
@leysa will receive 0.93476025 TRDO & @contrabot will get 0.62317350 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you for supporting @CatsMakeKittens by being a part of our community @leysa.

Each CATS you purchase gets you daily upvotes from me @CatScientist as our community grows so do your rewards for being a member!

coffeea Lucky you @leysa here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Congratulations @leysa, your post successfully recieved 0.93476025 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@contrabot earned : 0.6231735 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70