Tie Dye Extravaganza - Fabric, Shirt and Apron

in #creativecoin5 years ago

I have always loved tie dyed garments but I have never attempted this procedure myself. The process is not difficult and it is often used in classrooms across America in art classes. I started off admiring some Batik fabric and I researched the Batik technique. The batik process is much more difficult with hot wax, painting on designs, using multiple dye baths, etc. Then I read about using washable glue instead of hot glue to paint on fabric, and then using cold water dyes to complete the process.

WIN_20190914_10_43_58_Pro 3.jpg

I mistakenly bought hot water dye along with my washable glue, so I went shopping yesterday for cold water dye. The cold water dye is much more expensive and it also comes in smaller quantities, so I decided to use what I had on hand and try my luck with regular tie dyeing.

I have plenty of fabric and rubber bands so I figured if I messed up, . . . oh well. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. I started off by following the directions on the package which required a gallon of steaming hot water, and 1/4 cup of salt added to the dye package.

CBA5AB55B7F94DFF8CF25D93DCC865FA.jpeg

I prepared my fabric by twisting it and applying rubber bands to hold it together. I then immersed the fabric in hot water and squeezed it out before I put it in a large stainless steel bowl with the dye mixture.

56A5651DF7434B05ABE9B0C47CC6543F.jpeg

I stirred it around for several minutes and then I let it sit in the dye bath. Afterwards, I rinsed it out in the sink in cold water and took off the rubber bands. I squeezed out the excess liquid and then applied rubber bands in a different pattern. I immersersed the fabric in a black dye bath the next time, but I didn't let it stay in very long because I didn't want the black dye to overpower the purple dye.

7DDB7492E66841BB857CA2F7D064CAB4.jpeg

I rinsed it out and took off the rubber bands a second time. The next thing that I did was add some vinegar and salt into a cold water bath to help the dye to become color fast. I squeezed it out and then threw it in the washing machine to wash it so that I could dry it in my dryer.

I repeated the process with a white tshirt and a white apron that I had. I only used the purple dye on the tshirt and the black dye on the apron.

CDB6395DD9B84455A8A8F9A168F48A20.jpeg

They were all washed together in the washing machine and dried together in the dryer. I did not want any dye bleeding on my clothes or furniture.

AF7BB832CE0940B880E2480CC0DCD0CE.jpeg

A lot of the color came out when I washed them in the washer. I probably should have left them in the dye bath a lot longer which is what I had read about. I will try this again and leave the objects in the dye bath for a longer period of time.

I still like the results, even though the colors are not as deep or vibrant as they were when they were wet.

Have a great day!

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hi, @jluvs2fly!

Thank you for using the #diy tag. This post has been rewarded by @build-it.curator with BUILD tokens in the form of an upvote. Build-it is a new tribe on the steem blockchain that serves as a central hub for DIY contents on steemit.

We encourage steemians to post their DIY articles via our website. Have a question? Join us on Discord and telegram

This project is run and supported by our witness @gulfwaves.net. If you like what we do, vote for us as a witness on the steem blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82