Time Travel for Beginners - How to Light Paint this imagesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativecoin4 years ago (edited)

8.1-366-2020.jpg

Some original and fresh out of the camera Light Painting from a little earlier on. Everything I have posted so far has been recycled from one of my many 365 projects so it feels good to post something new here first.

I like to write a breakdown of the techniques I use in the images I create, I believe it helps people who aren't familiar with light painting understand the process a little better.

Here I used some of my favourite tools and props to create this inter-dimensional piece.

All of my light painting work is created in camera without the use of Photoshop or other layering software. Instead I add the layers in real time, changing tripods and sometimes lenses midway through the exposure. Here below are a couple of images to show my ghetto set-up for tonight.

20200108_201119.jpg

This is the inside of my son's coat and as soon as I saw it I knew it would work well with my light art. There is a certain sci-fi/time travel type feel to this grid pattern which I love. Here on tripod 1 I focused as close as possible to the coat and illuminated the lining with a blue, then green filter on my torch. Shining the light from all directions then replacing the lens cap. Don't forget this all takes place in the dark!

Next I move my camera to tripod number 2 and change the focus to a pre-determined area. See below.

20200108_201043.jpg

As you can see, this is where I moved the camera to which is the glass on my back door. You'll notice in my hand is my favourite tool. The Lightpainting Brushes black fiber optic brush, orange filter and a high powered flashlight.

I remove the lens cap and go outside closing the door behind me, I place my hand in position on the glass and wave the fiber optic brush all around my hand and arm. This illuminates the area around my arm but leaves my arm and hand in darkness, allowing the coat liner element to remain clear. After a liberal wafting of the brush I rush inside again and end the exposure....Simple.

Here below is another example from this evening but with slightly different colours and orientation.

I do post process the Raw files in Lightroom but all of the effects you see are created during the single long exposure in complete darkness.

8-366-2020.jpg

If you've made it this far then well done and if you have any questions about any of my work then please feel free to ask.

Enjoy the rest of the day everyone and keep spreading the light.

If you'd like to see more light painting on Steemit then give @lightpaintershub "Lightpainters United" a follow and you'll be introduced into the world of light painting.

Happy days.

Sort:  

Congratulations @fadetoblack! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Sooo super cool. Thank you so much for sharing. Love it sooo much!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers Gunnar. I thought I should up my game and share a little more info on how it is done.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is absolutely stunning! Thank you very much for the detailed explanation. It's great what you can learn from each other when you share your knowledge. Thanks alot!


Lu Banner new.jpg

Join us at @lightpaintershub

Thanks Mafu. It's a real honour and I hope this goes a long way to help spread lp to the wider world.

Congratulations for your post my dear
I am resteemit your post... best of luck ❤️

Thanks so very much. I'm glad you like it and there will be more to come.

Ok best of luck ❤️ my dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97