You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living in Djibouti, Africa | Part 1 (10 Photos)

in #creativecoin5 years ago

Wow. Why is the country so poor and in such disrepair? Do they not have natural resources, soil to grow food, and so on?
Thanks for the interesting photos!

Sort:  

It is poor. Really their only industry is their port/shipping, and also money from the military base leases. I'm not sure the money they do take in is managed very well, which is normal in this part of the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

Is the land not fertile, at least? They can't take advantage of the sunshine, and produce food and textile etc? I understand they're poor in money and currency, but it appears they're barely scraping together the basics. I feel badly for people, when I see them not doing well, especially when I know so much better is possible. It makes me wish I could help, even if it's just doing what I can from where I am to make the world a better place.

It's pretty much barren desert there unfortunately. The ocean nearby has great fishing though. The scuba diving and snorkling is one of the few reasons tourists make the trip. In the fall you can swim with whale sharks, which is incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59