5-Minute Freewrite: Don’t Walk Away

in #creativecoin3 years ago

Finally, the doctors allowed her to transfer to a regular room from the ICU.

Alzheimer’s made the stroke she suffered even more difficult for her. The pandemic made it harder to take care of her. No longer were caretakers allowed to be near ICU patients. I can only see my Mama from a glass window.

I can’t count how many times I cried watching her on the other side of the glass. I reckon she’s confused, and she needs a familiar face. It must be why she’s been crying tirelessly every time I take a peep from the window.

IMG_20201117_181133.jpg

When she saw me again in her room, she smiled. As if it took her pains away. She couldn’t speak. She couldn’t move. But when I told her I needed to get her something from the pharmacy, her eyes welled up as if saying, “don't walk away..."


This free write is my entry to @mariannewest’s #freewrite challenge.

Sort:  

So sad - and the truth for so many right now!

Indeed. I'm hoping the vaccines being prepared for COVID can do wonders. It would make life easier again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56