Google AutoDraw allows non-artists to draw decently

in #creative7 years ago (edited)

Google is making daily progress in Artificial Intelligence thanks to their most famous acquisition: Deep Mind. 

One of their latest games, Google QuickDraw, was just a test for an artificial intelligence.

What is QuickDraw?

QuickDraw is a fun and easy game similar to Pictochart or drawsomething. Except it is singleplayer.

When playing Quickdraw, you are asked to draw certain objects and the algorithm will try to guess what you're drawing. It is extremely precise and even non-artis can score incredibly well in this game. 

At the end of the play, you can also give a look to other players' drawing and have lots of fun times with your friends.

Click here to play QuickDraw.

What is AutoDraw?

Google took the datas they got from QuickDraw to learn how the general public draw. 

They then used those datas to create an algorithm able to understand what you're drawing. The tool then suggests you professional drawings made by artists and you can use them simply by clicking on the desired one. 

Here's a quick example.

In this screenshot, I was trying to draw a cat. As you can see, I'm pretty bad at this, so I choose one of the professionally-made drawings in the top bar. The tool gives you lots of choices so it's almost guaranteed that you will find a design you like.

The tool also gives you the possibility to draw freely, change colours and do all kind of fun stuff.

Click here to try AutoDraw.

Conclusions

I think Google Autodraw is an amazing tool that exploit creativity for non-artists and enable everyone to have fun playing around feeling a new-born artist. 

I hope this as a great discovery for you and, if you like this kind of tips, I always like to explore new tools. It may become a serie :) 

Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

That's amazing! Let me try it out. It is something targeted to people like me, one without any drawing talent!

as you can see I'm not good at drawing just like you eheh :)

Will try this out....google auto draw..

Nice info

I'm glad you liked it!

Yes I do...thanks once more for the info...do check my blog for an interesting short family story. You will surely love it...thanks

This is a really cool example of where machine learning is going. Thanks for sharing!

How the hell does it get some of these so fast? Now I'm going to have to look into the code to see how many guesses it actually makes that aren't vocalized.

Looking into it, it looks like each guess comes back with a set of 19 objects it could be. And the actual guess has to be in the top two of what it thinks it might be.

Thank you for commenting bud :)

Damn, I hadn't even got down to playing with autodraw before commenting. This is amazing!

Lol your fist drawing looks like a bunny to me !

I did it as quickly as possible to show how good the tool is when it comes to recognizing bad drawings :D I can draw a cat a LITTLE better then that ahahha

This is really cool! I just tried it out. I also like how it shows you what its second and third guess were after getting it.

googledraw.png

Yes, it's really cool! :D

Great tips, thanks for sharing!

Thanks for commenting @shortcut :)

Wow, good for bad drawer like me:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66