On the rockface

in #creative5 years ago

Two for the blue...

blue day.jpg

ON THE ROCK FACE

I was on the rock face of it all again and underneath the tower where I was losing my strength fast; I’d been holding on for too long, nothing that was any good.
The dead-post came and said I was unruly and should take a rest. I was just there, taking a hit, what did I care about suggestions, and yeah, I was ready for another rest.
My watch was going crazy with all the madness and the fire had gone out long ago, but the moon was in the window as I looked down on it all until I couldn’t see anything else, and so I brought up my butterscotch fingers for yet another slip where the sky was too far out of my way this side of Sunday.
Well, I couldn’t cry anymore about all the hurt so I carried on climbing all the way to the top.
The pain was too huge as the moments came one by one, so I smashed my heart into the ground to see if it would go away and cursed the pain for its unwanted intrusion into my life.
It wouldn’t break no matter what so I took to the rock face and climbed away into the heavens.
So there I was, climbing away into the heavens most bravely and thinking: maybe there’s a god around here somewhere that I’ll have to meet who might be looking down on me and ready to grant me wings if I would but come a little closer.

THE UTILITY TEST

Seriously, you expect me to believe that?
Of course, have you not been programmed to believe what I’m telling you?
I was not very good in school; I usually sat at the back.
Ah, I see; now we are getting somewhere.
I don’t see that.
You’re not very bright, are you?
Yes, I am, I’m as bright as a bee.
Well, that’s telling me a lot then, isn’t it?
Yes it does, I’ve also been practicing.
Practicing you say; and what have you been practicing, pray tell?
Oh, how to be practically invisible in the nightshade of course; just like the leaflet promised.
I’ll give you sixpence for it and an old pack of cards my grandma left me to tell me where I was if I ever got to here.
I might accept that if it wasn’t for the tone of your voice.
Are you hearing voices now?
No, I am not hearing voices; I am hearing you.
If you are hearing me then hear this: it is now time to surrender.
I quickly pulled the hearing aid out of my ear and threw it away, and said to myself I would never listen to one of those things ever again.

Image from me and taken in Penang, Malaysia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75