Woke up at sunrise to model my new crochet design...Ended up finding heaven.

in #creative7 years ago (edited)

Hello again Steemians and beautiful creators! <3

I'll start by saying, Yay! I finally completed my latest crochet design! I wanted to make a long sleeved dress that I could wear during these cool Carolina summer nights - because I'm pretty much always cold. This creation was inspired by the magical solitude of a quiet mountain trail.

DSC_0988.jpg

The dress actually worked up pretty quickly and I was able to complete the project in about a week. Here I am finishing up the final row on my bunk bed... which is also my desk. :)

DSC_1018.jpg

As soon as I finished this dress, I knew I wanted to go somewhere special to capture it. I ended up choosing Craggy Gardens, one of the best nature lookouts in western North Carolina. It is popular for its long range, 360 degree mountain views.

Unfortunately, the elevation of Craggy puts you in the clouds if there are any. This morning brought a seemingly endless cloud to the summit. So there were no panoramic mountain views... but I think I found heaven...?

DSC_0970.jpg

Typically if you arrive at Craggy and you are trapped in a cloud, you can wait it out. The weather can change very quickly up there with the wind. If you do go, bring a jacket or blanky because Craggy is over 3,500 feet higher in elevation than the city of Asheville and is about 10-20 degrees cooler. This wind was reaaallly cold and I was thankful for the sleeves!

DSC_1022.jpg

With the morning light quickly fading, we decided to head out and get some final shots off the Blue Ridge Parkway.

DSC_1219.jpg

The Parkway is 469 miles and connects the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in North Carolina to the Shenandoah National Park in Virginia. Aside from Highway 1 in Big Sur, California, this is the most scenic drive I've experienced in my life. Trails, lookouts, waterfalls, camp grounds, and swimming holes make it a popular destination for nature lovers around the world. If you can make the journey, I highly recommend it.

discovery.png

DSC_1239.jpg

DSC_1300.jpg

DSC_1116.jpg

DSC_1176.jpg

DSC_1311.jpg

DSC_1167.jpg

That's all for now! This dress pattern will be hitting my shop next week. Hope you enjoyed <3 Thanks so much for visiting me. xx

Sort:  

Oh my god, i love this design! Did you come up with it yourself, soooo talented! Wish i could crochet. Love you "mermaidcat" name, me and my sister inlaw call ourselves Aussie mermaids aha. Im new to steem it, would be awesome if you would follow me back @bethwendy

Hey @mermaidcat my #introduceyourself is up on my blog, would mean the world if you could check it out xo

Thanks so much! I did design it myself and you can crochet! It's easier than it looks :) xx I followed you back :) <3 <3

When I saw the dress I was in awe, and then the photos are just amazing! You and your fiance are such a great team! I can't wait to get my hands on this pattern. It'll probably take me longer than a week for me since, I still have like 5 patterns I need to work on that I already have from your shop. X)

Beautiful work! :D

Lol! Thank you! It is much appreciated! <3 Make sure you send me the email if you haven't already! <3 I'll be sending it out early next week! <3 <3

WHOA! These photos are amazing. Better than the typical view, it became a backdrop of wonder that totally allowed the dress to shine. Lovely work!

Thanks so much! That means a lot :) <3

Nothing makes you feel both small and infinite like long-range mountains. Magical creation and quite the photos to capture it!

Indeed feeling small and infinite! Thank you :) :)

Beautiful photography! And the dress is super cool!

Thank you and thank you! <3 <3

This is the most beautiful crocheted piece I have ever seen. You are incredible, inspiring, and on top of it all a sweetheart!💖

Awww! That is so sweet! <3 <3 Thanks so much. :)

This dress is absolutely amazing! I'm so in awe of your creations. I have a few patterns that have been waiting for me to make them, and I already have a few sitting in my cart waiting to be purchased. :)

Thank you! You're a babe <3 Make sure to send me that email if you haven't already! <3 <3

Wow ! stunning - up voted

After looking at this, I better step my photography skills. LOL ... you just upped the game :)

Lol, thanks @stackin!

Wow, how long did it take to make the stunning dress? It looks so nice

Thank you so much <3 Made it in about a week... not sure how many hours though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67