Crocodile Crochet

in #creative4 years ago

I've started a new project. No, I havnt finished the Easter baskets or the sofa blanket or the granny square blanket my actual Granny started who knows how long ago. Considering she's 97 it could literally be 80yrs ago. It won't take me that long to finish it tho - I hope.

I started the new project because I'm bored out of my mind with the Easter baskets, and it's Easter but they aren't done... Oh and I'm going to need 3 more skeins of this last basket yarn, but all the stores are closed.
Yes, all that sounds like wonderful reasons for starting something new lmao.
I also wanted to know how hard the Crocodile stitch really is.
Answer: it's not. It's actually super easy once you "get" the pattern. It's 5 double crochets, with a couple of chain 1s tossed in to keep things interesting. Super simple - even tho it looks like it would be a bugger to do.
The video I'm following puts a twist on the stitch tho - it's done from the corner, and expands out. Basically you do 1 croc stitch, a foundation row (more double crochets) and then 2 croc stitches - repeat the foundation row, 3 croc stitches - and you get the idea. Go as wide as you want, then decrease (that's so misleading to me, to me it's "don't increase further" which is not the same as a decrease. Decrease would actually make it smaller, not stay the same) when you have it as wide as you want it.
I much much prefer this way. It looks really cool on the diagonal, and I'm not chaining 600zillion chains in multiples of whatever number. Seriously don't want to do math in my crochet. I understand sometimes it's necessary but Ive managed to avoid it so far. This seems to work up super quick, without the monotony of doing the same thing back and forth like a worn out typewriter. Added bonus the counting is limited, so stitch markers aren't needed.

I'll be looking for more stitches like this for blankets. Fast work up, little to no counting, and zero math involved.

The video I'm following:

The start of my blanket:

IMG_20200412_095544626~2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43