"The melody of appeasement". Oil painting step-by-step

in #creative6 years ago

Hello, Steemit! If you do not know me yet - my name is Irina and I'm an artist from Russia. I will be glad to find new friends).


Today I will show you the process of creating a picture with oil paints. I decided to make some genre drawing. I drew a girl in a white dress, playing the flute in the thick grass of the Russian field. It is associated with freedom and peace in my imagination). To create a painting I used oil paints «Nevskaya Palitra», canvas on cardboard (24x30 cm), a wide bristle brush (number 10), a flat bristle brush (number 4), synthetic brushes (number 6, number 2 and number 8).


First, I drew the contours of the future picture with a hard graphite pencil. I marked the figure of the girl and the «lines» of the grass in the background of the picture.


I started painting from the sky. Decided to draw the evening sunset playing on light clouds. On the bright areas of the sky, I mixed zinc white with lemon yellow paint and pink shades obtained with a mixture of white and carmine. In the shadow of the clouds I put dark purple, claret and blue tones. I put the paints on the canvas with a wide bristle brush (number 10), slightly leaving the texture.

Then drew with synthetic brush (number 6) green grass. By transparent layers of paint I drew the figure of the girl and the flute, using brown, pink and gray shades.


Let's move on to detailing. If you want to drew faces well in pictures (especially using small brushes on small-format drawings), it is better to wait drying of the first transparent layer of oil paint. This makes the work neater, and the colors will better fasten on the canvas.


To connect the grass with an earthen background, I added a translucent layer of paint of burnt umber color. The paint can be thinned with a clear varnish for exceptional transparency. This is called a glaze. On the girl's dress I drew the folds, adding transparent layers in the shades with dark purple and blue colors, like the rebound of the sky.


Made the brown tones on the grass darker, drawing in some places with dense brush strokes. In the sky with a bristle brush (number 6) I painted the sun, mixing white and cadmium yellow. According to the idea, the sun will be directly behind the head of the central figure of the picture and the viewer will be visible only to its divergent rays.


I drew flowers on the grass, mixing white, yellow, red, blue and violet paints, and taking a multicolor brushstrokes on the canvas. I gave the flowers a form similar to Ivan-tea. Painted with small bristle brush for texture.


Then I drew in detail the foreground, painting flowers and shadows on the grass. In the background, I strengthened the rays of the sun, applying strips of a thick mixture of white and cadmium yellow colors. On the girl's hair I painted light patches of light yellow, orange and red colors.


At the final stage I drew the details on the picture and corrected mistakes. The picture is ready.


Gif with all stages of drawing.




Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe)

I apologize for my mistakes in the text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

Your english is good so I don't see a reason to apologize. Here is a photo of a place near where I live in California. Many artists like to paint. I thought you may too :)
https://pixabay.com/en/mcway-falls-big-sur-waterfall-1582373/#=

Oh God, what a beautiful place! I'll try to draw)

Absolutely beautiful work!

thank you!)

We are same iam also in painting blog, please see my post

We are same iam also in painting blog, please see my post thanks my friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68