Sorrento. Oil painting. Draw with me!))

in #creative6 years ago

Hello, Steemit!

If you do not know me yet - my name is Irina and I'm an artist. I will be glad to find new friends).


Today I would like to show you the process of creating a picture with oil paints. In oil painting I know one technique in which the underpainting is created with watercolor paints and white gouache, and then prescribed with oil paints and varnish. This technique is quite convenient, because at the preparatory stage all the main points of the picture, the color ratio, the composition are thought through and an unmistakable drawing is being constructed. When the underpaintings dry and are ready, it remains only to draw with oil paints. I will paint today the Italian landscape of the Sorrento. For the drawing, I used good watercolor paper (100% cotton), oil paints (Ladoga and Masterclass), watercolors (White Nights), watercolor brush (kolinsky number 5), oil paints ( bristles number 6, number 2, synthetic number 4, number 2, number 0), varnish, solvent.


First, I drew the contours of the picture with a hard graphite pencil. I drew the contours of houses, crowns of trees and a pond.


Then I started to create a sub-painting with watercolors. I started from the sky. I dilute blue cobalt and carmine paints and apply very transparent strokes on paper, stretching their edges. Some places I leave completely transparent for the clouds.


Then I drew the front of the picture with the same transparent strokes as the sky. I use paints: umber, burnt, ocher, cadmium yellow (medium) and ultramarine dark.


I painted the foliage on the trees with colors "cobalt green dark" and "viridonic green". Also on the tree crowns added the ocher paint to tie the greens to the ground on the front of the picture. .


With same colors that on the front (umbra burnt, ocher light, cadmium yellow (medium) and ultramarine dark) I drew the transparent strokes on the walls and roofs of buildings. The paint should be applied strictly in shape, emphasizing the geometry and clarity.


Then I compacted the underpainting with white gouache. Gouache was mixed with watercolor paints and I put it on watercolor strokes. I painted clouds in the sky (mixing white gouache with blue and red colors), the foliage of the trees (mixing gouache with green paint and ocher) and the walls of houses (mixing gouache with ocher and umber-burned).


When the gouache dries up (and it dries very quickly), I began to prescribe the picture with oil paints. In some places, the paint was put tightly (the brightest places in the picture), in some plases it is completely transparent. The picture gradually becomes brighter, more saturated. The first layers of oil paint will be absorbed into the paper, so it is necessary to reinforce the color and brightness with the subsequent application of the layers.


On the light walls of the houses, the paint was applied with a thick bristle brush to show the texture. I applied a mixture of zinc white with light ocher and cadmium yellow.


I drew the foliage on the trees with a disheveled brush number 2, mixing light ocher with varnish. With zinc whites made bright accents on the lightest places of the picture


At the final stage, I made the glazing of the picture. In the shades I put a varnish with an admixture of cobalt blue, in bright places put a varnish, tinted with ocher red and umber burnt. Finally, I covered the picture with a varnish for fixing. The picture is ready.


My drawing process.

Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

🎉 Congratulations @kleonella! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

thank you very much!)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you very much)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33