How do I use steemit to learn : Learning across languages ...

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

I am always reading snippets of information about nature - plants, garden, insects and so on. I also read about craft and art; whatever catches my eye. I also look at other languages and try to understand provided there's a 'link'.

The other day @cleateles wrote an interesting post about pareidolia - there's still time to upvote it, go ahead and follow the link ...

I am sure I'm not the only one that goes around finding patterns, especially faces in odd places including ceilings, windows, walls and so on.

I was really grateful to @cleateles because the post gave a name to this 'phenomenon' for me ... I found the article written in Portuguese by chance and, thank goodness, language was not a barrier - the wonders of Latin based languages. Also, as predictable as I am, I searched to find more information about it and here's a good definition that gives you further details.

Some time ago @tinygalaxy and me found ourselves in a cafe (for a change) and all of a sudden I saw this :

I hope you can see it as clearly as I saw it on the day, but just in case I I've cut the 'design' and twisted it a bit.

To me there's nothing deep and meaningful about these things, but i think every so often they can be a source of creative inspiration.

Above is my sketch of it and I can take it in many directions : a circular design for a brooch is my preferred choice. It may need a bit of reworking, but I'm hoping to include embroidery and a bit of beading...



All photos and musings by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

That's a really interesting design - and source of inspiration. I am never that imaginative. Until I saw your drawing, I didn't pick up on the profile!

Thanks @shanibeer... I must start sketching the ideas I get from these 'paraedolic events'.

I wonder whether or not after reading about this your mind will be more primed to finding this sort of facial patterns - most likely, you're probably too busy to do so 😁

My mind is always busy, that's true!

Adorei! Obrigada pela menção!

Obrigada pela visita @cleateles 🌸

Thank you for visiting

I'm very grateful for the mention, thank you very much! 😊

É um prazer @cleateles 🌸 obrigada pelo 'resteem'

It's a pleasure! Thank you for resteeming !

Very cool inspiration. I see like an Aztec king. The pattern is elegant as a line drawing but my mind wants some color :) My Portuguese is nonexistent so I googled pareidolia

I like the idea of some embroidery and beading @cryptocariad. I saw the same thing as you when I first saw the knot in the wood. 😁

I'm very grateful for the mention, thank you very much! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71