First Attempt At Making A Knife, Part 1

in #creative6 years ago (edited)

Making A Knife, Where I Started With Mine

The where to start is a easy one, get some steel and a piece of paper then start telling everyone how you are going to make a knife, quite easy I'd say (especially the procrastination). Then comes the harder parts, actually starting with it. I have very limited experience with metal work, but I have always been quire interested in it and wanted to give it a go.

My brother (@driekus) and I have been speaking of making knives for quite a while now and nothing really came of it because we both were quite busy and were never available at the same times. So he finally gave up on me about a month ago and made his first knife without me, it did great on Steemit and can be found here.

So today we finally had a bit of time and I was able to go over and start with my project, he was already busy with a second project but that is still "hush, hush". On Friday we started discussing different types of steel and where to get them, luckily we have cousin that could help us out a bit with the sourcing of the material needed. We were lucky enough that he had a piece lying around that we could have for free. My brother went off in search of some more good material for future ventures and finally bought four pieces which we hope to turn into some great works of art.

So for the steel.. What I had to work with in my hour and a half was an approximate 30cm x 3cm piece of steel that is 6mm thick. When I had my first look at the steel I noticed a slight dark spot closer tot he edge which was caused by the cutting torch used on it. So our first task was to gently heat and cool the steel to make sure that it had an even hardness (in theory). As you can see from the picture the heating led to some interesting color patterns.
20180224_091620.jpg

The Design

What I decided to make was a very slender dagger, I'm still on the fence about the exact design. I'm by no standard a great artist, I have some ideas which I think is great but never really practiced my drawing. First I started out by tracing the outline of the still hot steel, a bit overexcited I know.. Then I plotted points of the design I had in my head and started drawing the lines.
20180224_092927.jpg

State of the art equipment, I know right. A broken ruler and a pencil I had to sharpen with a scalpel I found lying around, got to love the house I grew up in..

Below is the finished rough potential designs:
20180224_095833.jpg

We are both leaning towards the first one, hence more detail put into the drawing to give a bit better idea of what the end product should look like. As a matter of interest with the last one I drew a bit of inspiration from the new Black Panther movie, I wanted it to look a little more like the spears they used. Let me know of any ideas or suggestions you might have to improve or add tot the design.

The next step was opening the picture on Coreldraw and tracing the outline, this makes it easier to ensure that all the lines are straight and curves curvy. Having a computer program to help is quite nice as you can see:
5.png
IMG-20180224-WA0005.jpg
The Coreldraw drawings were made by @driekus .

That was unfortunately all we had time for, next we are going to print the drawing, cut it out and transfer the design onto the steel.

I know this was a long read for not a lot of progress but there is more to come so stick around.

Appreciator Footer.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Congratulations @chr7is! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That looks like a really cool and fun project! I'm going to go check out your brothers one quickly :)

I wanted to try this for quite some time now. Now we just need to buy spme more equipment to make it even better.

Wow. This is so creative. You are good dear!
Well done!

I only started out so hopefully there is only better things to come.

Oooo, someone is becoming a blacksmith now ey? Can't wait to see ur finished knife at work.

Well I'm going to give it a shot at least. Have always been fascinated by blacksmithing.

Congratulations @chr7is! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Interesting how you describe the creative process, @chr7is! Love how you're collaborating with your brother on this. Nicely written.

Thanks for the support :) I try my best to keep the readers entertained with my writing. The last thing I want to happen is someone losing interest half way through. My brother and I have been talking about doing this for quite some time now and it is awesome that it is finally coming together.

Nice planning steps before becoming creative @chr7is nice to have someone to work with into a new hobby.

Look forward to checking the finished product !

Very cool project, @chr7is, and it made me think of my little brother who also is interested in creating knives. I myself also am a hobbyist and a craftswoman so I salute you, fellow crafters ;) I'm curious how your final result will look like. Good luck with your project!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33