IT IS FREE AND I CAN USE IT

in #creative8 years ago (edited)

It's Free!

A few years ago I was driving home from the gym and when I was about three blocks from my house I saw an old wooden extension ladder sitting by the curb with as sign that said, free. At first I drove by, but then as I thought about it and since I was driving my pickup truck I decided I wanted it.

At the time I had no idea what I would use it for, so I stored in the backyard. Weeks later I had my first brainstorm and began using the bottom section of the ladder to create a large bird condo. A year later I had my second brainstorm and used the top section to make a towel rack.

Brainstorm #1

At the top of the ladder I added a few boards in grid fashion that I used to attach four bird houses. Then I stood the ladder against my back fence and bolted it to one of the posts. It rises about six feet over the top of the fence. The birds were eager to move in; then, deeper into summer vines began to climb it and eventually covered the houses. For a time I pulled them down, but when I realized the birds liked to hide within them I left them alone.

Brainstorm #2

This project took no work at all. We had just remodeled our bathroom and were looking to buy new accessories. When it came to towel racks we were having trouble, then it hit me, use the other section of the old wooden ladder. I cut it to an appropriate length and bolted it to the wall, finished.


Sort:  

Really cool to see you finding newfound purpose for unwanted items. You set a great example. Upvoted

Thanks @verbal-d it is like sampling a line from an old song and giving it new life.

You're welcome and I completely agree!

Brilliant recycling idea, gets one thinking outside the box.

Thanks @linzo I love giving things new purpose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80