Creative Exercise: Making a Watch out of a Watch

in #creative7 years ago

fullsizeoutput_1b9.jpeg

Last night I decided to take a watch that I had laying around and make it into something new and fun! I started with the watch below. I never wore this watch, so instead of having it sitting around collecting dust for eternity, I cut the straps off and made my own! Here's how:

Materials

  • 14 gauge copper (stripped housing wire)
  • 1/2 Round, 14 gauge copper
  • Needle nose pliers
  • scissors
  • old watch

Cut off the Old Band

To start, I just used scissors to cut off the "leather" band of the watch. This leaves just the time-keeping piece itself with two metal bars on each end that once held the band.

Start Creating

Next, I grabbed some of my 14 gauge copper wire and started wrapping it around the metal bar on one end. I didn't have any particular design in mind. This was just kind of a fun "wing-it" project. So, I just kind of let it flow and wrapped enough wire around the watch to make it secure and then shaped a simple bracelet, sort of like I would when making one of my regular bracelets. I must point out though that this was rather difficult. One, because of the thick wire and two, because those metal bars were not that sturdy.

rsz_img_0727.jpg

After I had a fairly sturdy base, I added some 1/2 Round 14 gauge wire, just to have some fun and make it a little sturdier.

And that, friends, is it. It is not a perfect or elegant watch, but it was a fun way to pass the evening. I will most likely take it apart and do it over again for more practice, but I thought I would share my latest experiment. Thanks for reading!
rsz_img_0729.jpg rsz_img_0730.jpg

Coming Soon

I will soon be sharing a tutorial for anyone who wants to learn how to wire wrap crystals on their own. It will focus on ways to practice and test your creative ability without having to waste money on expensive materials. There are some examples of my wire wrapped pendants below. Also note, that these items are all available on my Etsy store! https://www.etsy.com/your/shops/ARInfiniteCreations

IMG_0735.JPGIMG_0737.JPGIMG_0594.JPGfullsizeoutput_1ac.jpegfullsizeoutput_1b0.jpeg

Sort:  

Very nice work. I UpVote.

And I appreciate it :)

beautiful @arifinite

Ver intresting post, beautifully presented and explained. Detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted

Bagus baget.. Ini asli apa kw..

I appreciate that :) I spend a lot of time on my posts so that they will flow nicely and be easy to read. Thanks for the feedback!

Pretty clock and very creative

Thanks! That is nice of you to say :)

Congratulations @arinfinite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great art 👍following you now. 😁

Hey thanks :) Hope you are having a good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36