You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing Creative Commons. Living in Bliss in the Hinterland. Serti Silk Painting. Art.

in #creative-commons7 years ago

I love your work! This one has such lovely sensitive colours... The work is alike batik in the sense batik also has hand painted silks, probably the way the colour is absorbed on the material ~ all I know is that it is gorgeous...
Have a wonderful day, my friend... 😊🌼

Sort:  

Thanks ever so much @ackhoo.

I've always loved Batik work: Especially the traditional works made with natural dyes. I bought a Batik wall hanging when I first came to Sydney, as a homecoming present for myself, because Sydney seemed to be my home and this feeling has proven to be true. The fabric is faded and tearing apart now but I can't bear to part with it.

Yes, the technique of Serti is very similar to Batik. Where heated wax is used in Batik, Serti uses Guta as the resist to outline the areas to be painted. My aim was to make this line as fine as possible while it still acted as a 'barrier.'

The vibrancy of colour is achieved because the dyes penetrate the silk so that the natural sheen of the silk remains. So pleased you like it. Have a few more to share now as well. (While still trying to find the space to experiment with my pastels.)

Hope you are having a wonderful week-end. Sulty Sydney has finally broken. Looking forward to autumn now and thinking of going to the Great Ocean Road in March. 🦋

MAGICAL MOMENTS-1.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66