Combination Egg Noodle Stir Fry - Food Fight Friday Entry

in #fff5 years ago (edited)

Combination Egg Noodle Stirfry smaller.jpg

After another long Friday, I decided to treat myself to something from my favourite Vietnamese and Chinese restaurant, the

Pho Linh Logo smaller.jpg

Nestled deep within the northern suburbs of Adelaide and hidden unceremoniously on the tail end of a suburban mini shopping centre, the Pho Linh restaurant produces some of the best Vietnamese and Chinese dishes in the area; their only real competition being the Pho Ba Ria 2 restaurant on Hanson Road, unless you want to eat in the city itself.

This restaurant is often filled to the point the lines go outside the door at lunch time because, while they have adequate seating for the size of the restaurant, the local military staff go there en masse for their delicious Banh Mi (Vietnamese Meat Rolls). Traditionally, the Vietnamese rolls are quite small, but as an adaption to Australians being not only bigger people, but hungrier, they have made the rolls quite large. They will fill you up in no time at all. (They can be made to order for vegetarians, etc.).

But I am not here to talk about those, I am here to talk about this meal:

Combination Egg Noodle Stirfry.jpg
Combination egg noodle stirfry

Thankfully when I entered the restaurant at 7pm tonight, it wasn't too full but this still only left me with a choice of two tables. The atmosphere was one of being fairly busy as they have just started incorporating Uber Eats into their ordering process.

I have my own issues with Uber, so I am rather reluctant to give that service a try, but if you live in the northern suburbs of Adelaide, why not give it a go? Personally, I like to pop in unannounced when I can.

It had been a while since I'd been in there because of work commitments, so instead of calling me by my name (it's always good to be on a first name basis with a restaurant - and not so you can sue them for food poisoning if things go wrong!) I was called "mate". It's not something that most people would pick up on, but it means that I need to go back there more often.
It happens when people forget your name here. It's not an insult, and there are no social faux pas with it, it's just me being me.

As for the meal itself, the egg noodles are on the bottom, with everything else being placed on top. Steamed cauliflower, broccoli, cauliflower, capsicum (bell peppers), cabbage, onion, prawns ( with the tails still on, which I don't like) bean sprouts, and sliced carrots that have been carved into a pattern are thrown into a wok and stir fried to perfection.

This is the third or fourth time I have had this meal and it's rapidly becoming a 'go to' whenever I am there.
It's just so good. Maybe I'll see you there?

Bon Appetit!

Shaidon Cartoon.jpg
The Official Shaidon Seal Of Approval

Sort:  

Looks good. I am a fan of any Asian food usually. You need to try that tasteem!! They upvote nicely from what I have seen. I m going to next time I eat out which is not often enough lol.

Thanks for the reminder about tasteem. I gotta try that.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is looking super duper yummy and it looks similar to our local food here. And by the way, we are all accustomed with prawns with tail on, we use it to hold while bite off the flesh. Haha. Malaysian way. And yes, I prefer those without too so I can just gobble in the whole prawn. You know, some of my friends even eat the whole thing, prawns and tails and the shells. Oh my..

Yes it's a mixture of Vietnamese and Chinese food so it will have a mixture of Asian influences. And yes, it was super duper yummy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @shaidon.

It seems like the way I generally like that combination of vegetables is in some kind of stir fry or some other Asian type dish. I'm sure it's the sauces that usually go with them. Just steamed isn't my favorite. :)

That looks really good, and it bodes well, though inconvenient, that they can have lines. Are there quite a few people from China or Vietnam in the area, and do many eat there? That's usually a good sign for am ethnic restaurant, too.

Not likely to be popping in any time soon, but it does look delicious. If I ever do make it to Adelaide, I have at least one place to try. :)

They steem the veggies first before putting them in the wok to stirfry.

There are a few Vietnamese restaurants here, but very few straight Chinese ones. I'll have to double check that.

Many are from South Vietnam having fled the communists during the Vietnam war.

There's a good mix of people from everywhere that go there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! I really dig the signature picture, @shaidon—awesome! Explain your issues with Uber, personally, I’m a big fan of Uber. Even Uber eats never did me wrong, did something go down that rubbed you the wrong way?

I’m really enjoying the evolution of your #fff blog, sir, thanks for hanging out with us on Fridays, your blog is always a pleasant read.

I had to work at a military base last year, only I didn't have a car, so if I couldn't get a lift in, I had to catch an Uber. It's only 15 minutes from my house but the side entrance is rather remote.

Meaning that there isn't a proper address, so I had to approximate the location on the app.

My last Uber driver didn't speak to me and was silent the whole trip. My rep dropped from 4.81 to 4.79 and my account was blocked.

Ubereats can work well for a company, but I have heard some horror stories locally. Most people are great drivers but you can get those that ruin it for everyone.

Posted using Partiko Android

@shaidon, I’d probably be anti if they blocked my account—gotcha.

No reason was given. I tried adding a second credit card but they wouldn't accept it. I will have to find time to ring them and sort it out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Man, it sounds like your driver out in a really bad wOrd on you or something.

Possibley. He wouldn't talk to me the entire trip. But it's their loss.

Posted using Partiko Android

That meal looks good gooooood. I’d probably order something like that over and over again too. Yum! HPpy Food Fight @shaidon!

I like to change things up a bit sometimes. I should try some variety next time. We'll see what I have time to produce.

I think I order well the first time at places most of the time. I usually order the same thing too because I like it. Dandays likes to tease me about that. Haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61135.20
ETH 2928.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66