Mother’s Cookbook: Baked Beans

in #motherscookbook6 years ago (edited)

Baked beans have been a staple for centuries. Beans are high in protein and fiber which are part of a healthy diet.

A variety of different beans can be used such as navy, soldier, pinto, kidney, etc.

My favorite is the yellow-eye beans probably because those were the kind used by my mother.

I remember baked beans being the usually dish for Saturday’s main meal. Sometimes with potato salad or with biscuits.

Baked Beans can be baked in a couple different methods. I used Mother’s method today.


image



Beans got a bad rap for the gas they produced in the stomach. It was always a joke not to sit beside anyone who just had a plate of beans. I read somewhere it was a combination of potatoes with the beans that amplified the gas.

A little rhyme we sang as children about the flatulence caused by eating beans:

Beans, Beans the Musical fruit,
The more you eat, the more you toot
The more you toot, the better you feel
Then you’re ready for another meal


How I made the baked beans:

  • I sorted and rinsed a pkg of the yellow-eyed beans.

  • Let the beans soak overnight covered with water.

  • Rinse the beans again

  • The next step is to parboil the beans to aid in the softening process. Parboiling entails cooking on the stovetop. Cover to the top of the beans in cold water, let come to a vigorous boil for 5 minutes and then simmer for about 40 minutes or until nearly tender.

  • I put the beans in the oven in the above baking dish and added:

  • 1 Chopped Onion

  • 1 Chopped Garlic

  • 1/2 C. Salsa

  • 1/2 Lb. Bacon ( cut into pieces)

  • 1/2 C. Molasses

  • Pepper & Salt as desired

Bake in 300F oven for a hour.

Hint - If beans do not seem to soften try adding a small dash of baking soda and reheat a bit longer.

My mother had an earthenware pot she used to put the beans in the oven.

Biscuits to go with the beans. Sunday Cat seems to be sad he can’t have one. :)



image


This makes an easy nutritious meal. The Canadian food guide has advised folks to try and make their own meals at home as much as possible. You will have control of the salt and sugar used.




#thealliance





46B316FA-31F9-40BB-87B7-F85999B33372.png


6EE249CE-12B6-4AD7-944D-06B6CDD099C5.jpeg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Good to keep those traditional dishes alive!

What you call biscuits seems to me to be like what we call scones. And what we call biscuits, you call cookies!

True Deb. We do have a bit of a different name for things. Biscuits would be same as scones. 😊

howdy redheapei! wow beans and biscuits! You can't go wrong with that, I love both of them but don't think I've ever had them together. Plus I don't recall hearing about Soldier Beans. But anyway they look freaking marvelous and I bet they taste as good as they look!

The beans did taste good. A little extra seasoning added to the flavour.
Photo of soldier beans. They are a white bean with the dark maroon "soldier" on the eye
()

howdy this morning redheadpei! wow, that is an interesting looking bean! I wonder how come I never heard of those before? Suppose we don't have those down here? lol. It is a cold climate bean or something? Very interesting, thank you!

Maybe you know them as red eye beans. Soldier beans are grown in New England but I would imagine they would be in grocery store all over U.S. and here. it depends on the harvest how many are available. I’m going to look for them at the store here as I think they would be good baked.

Howdy this fine Sunday redheadpei! yes I bet they would be very good baked, indeed. I think you should create a killer recipe and post about it! lol.

Good evening Cowboy. I will see if I can find them at the grocers and see how they turn out. Beans don’t have to be plain and that dash of baking soda helps the gas. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61048.59
ETH 2372.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54