Road trip through Greece and Italy

in #travel8 years ago

Hi, this is my first post here on steemit. I 've been into the cryptocurrency world for around 2 years now mainly interested in the technical side of certain algorithms but just discovered steemit last week. I don't really like writing about myself, and I've just come back from a road trip in South Italy and Greece, so I'll just share some pictures and talk about my experience :)

I've done several road trips in my life and, for those who haven't tried it, I have to say it's a very different form of travelling; you 're on the move all the time; cities, sightseeings, landscapes change very fast and so do feelings and emotions. The people you are with are very important; you get very close to them during such trips and you have to get on well.

This is Patras, a city in western Greece and its where I'm currently working. The picture was taken from a hilltop, end of the stairs of Agiou Nikolaou street, its one of the city hotspots.

This is where our roadtrip started. We left Patras and travelled north to Igoumenitsa, a port city, from where we took a ferry to Brindisi, Italy.

We then travelled through some villages to reach Lecce or the "Florence of the South"; a very historic and romantic city full of Baroque buildings and historical plazzas and cathedrals. The image below is from Duomo di Lecce and is suprisingly good, considering I took it with my phone camera!

We then headed to Naples, which is one of my favorite cities. It has its narrow streets full of graffiti and some places might look dangerous, but as long as you don't wander around in the middle of nowhere at 5 in the morning, you 'll be safe.



We then went to Pompeii, which is just outside Naples. There is a whole ancient city with buildings, roads, temples and amphitheatres; its life stopped instantly after a volcanic eruption, effectively freezing time. There are some petrified bodies; you have to be there to understand how it is.

I will not show you pictures of the city; you can find numerous of these online. However, as we were walking around we spotted this:

This is how Pink Floyd performed Live at Pompeii. Even though I'm a fan I didn't know about this live. And then we realised that in July 2016 David Gilmour came back to play 2 live concerts!!

We were there in the end of July and we missed it for just 2 weeks! I couldn't believe it..

We then headed south along some picturesque villages and beaches and took a ferry from Villa San Giovanni to Messina (Sicily). What stroke me in the port is the life vests they have on the walls together with peoples' names; a reminder of the thousands of lives that have been lost by immigrants trying to reach the Italian shores.


We then reached Palermo, the only city I was a bit worried about. Unfortunately we didn't have time to see it at night but during the day some historical areas in the center are really worth a visit. However, there were also some areas where I felt were very poor and dangerous.


There is a game called "Night falls in Palermo..."; this image reminded me of it. I don't really know if anyone outside Greece and Italy is familiar with this game..


Anyway, here is a picture of a poster I found interesting - again in Palermo. It compares 1936 Spain to 2016 Rojava (Syrian Kurdistan). I don't really know Italian so can't understand what it says though.


We then took a return route, passing through Taormina, Taranto, Brindisi and back to Igoumenitsa, Greece. We went to Lefkada (an island next to Igoumenitsa) for 1 day; this is a picture from the famous Porto Katsiki beach.

And finally, we returned home to Patras :)


Sort:  

Greetings! This article has been featured in Lost Content Digest, Issue #5. The author will receive a share of all SBD proceeds from the LCD issue.

Thanks for the tour! I love Italy, but have never visited Greece. The road-trip seems like an awesome way to really see things in a new way.

Congratulations @icen2345! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @icen2345! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97