A Carpenter Bee Came To My Garden

in #life5 years ago

IMG_20190324_145319361.jpg

The carpenter bee came to visit my garden. I usually call them the big black bees. I say big, cause they are bigger than the honey bee that I knew as a kid. Actually where I am they are the biggest bee to visit my garden.

When my tomato plants start to flower then it is the carpenter bees that come to pollinate mostly. Well, cause I guess the honey bees are dying out. I have seen videos of honey bee hives almost empty.

They are saying that the honey bee can seem to make it back to the hive. Poisons and radio waves might be the problem.

The only time I really see the honey bees is when my orange tree starts to blossom. That is when they come out of the woodwork. There are so many that I just have to be near my orange tree at that blossom time and I can hear the buzz of a lot of bees.

These are mostly honey bees. I haven't noticed any carpenter bees on the orange blossoms. I will have to check. I guess certain bees like certain kinds of flowers, maybe. Well, I am no bee expert. I just like looking at the different bees that visit.

There was a time some years back when I noticed that I hardly seen a bee at all. In those days I try pollinating by hand. Well, that is not easy. It is better if the bees make it to my garden.

I have also notice a really small bee. They fly a little differently. It seems like they hover a lot, but they do go into the flower and pollinate it. It doesn't matter to me so long as something is pollinating the flowers so the food will follow.

Of course I better not for get about the butterflies that come around. Yes they do the work also. It is just I don't see that many butterflies.

I remember as a kid there would be all kinds of butterflies. I guess the butterflies are having the same problems as the honey bees.

If anything happens to the bees, then we as a whole are in a lot of trouble as we depend on the bees for our food supply and nobody wants to pollinate by hand.

Back to the picture, this carpenter bee is going after the flowers of my broccoli plants.

Sources 1, 2

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75