Oracle-d Winners Post (Gaming dApps)

in #steemleo5 years ago (edited)

This is my winner's post for the "Review a Gaming dApp" contest that was run and completed last week by @oracle-d and @dapplovers (and @stateofthedapps). Due to a glitch in the Condesor front-end at @oracle-d... the date of the contest was extended, which meant that all the original review posts were past payout, meaning that upvote prize for winning would have to be placed on a separate winner's acceptance post instead.

For my entry into this contest, I had reviewed the CelerX/Ethereum based game Fish Jump. CelerX is one of a number sidechain solutions for the current scalability and transaction fee problems on Ethereum and especially how they impact upon gaming which is a model that requires multiple small transactions to be written to a blockchain. Needless to say, this is quite problematic and destructive from a user point of view, and the problem is only exacerbated during times of high network congestion when transaction fees (gas prices) are required to rise in order to be included in the next block of transactions.

During my time writing for @oracle-d, I've covered quite a number of dApps with various use cases... ranging from the DeFi (Decentralised Finance) space through to the gaming. As an avid nerd with a crazy interest in new use cases and new technologies... I've been interested in crypto and most importantly, it's potential to revolutionise or streamline existing real world systems. For me, these potential outcomes are the thing that is most important to me... the money and speculation is a distraction and a sideshow as far as I'm concerned. Writing these reviews for @oracle-d has made me focus and improve my review and technical writing, to the point where I feel confident in my technical writing and the ability to potentially pursue it as an alternative career choice!

During my time on Steem, I've done quite a bit of writing... rediscovering a skill and interest that I had long forgotten about. My day job as a violinist means that I'm rarely writing... mostly communicating via a much more abstract and ephemeral form of language!

Anyway, the process of writing a review for @oracle-d always begins with a perusal of the various dApps in the featured category. Most of the blockchains that are featured on @stateofthedapps are chains where I have an account with some value attached to... so, I won't have to do much in the way of filtering by blockchain... and the ones that I don't have an account presence... I can easily purchase some of the appropriate tokens with STEEM (via Bitcoin on Binance or Bittrex) to fund the production of a properly researched and experienced review.

Sometimes, I have the good fortune of having already experienced the particular dApp... in this case, Fish Jump was a game that I had played a good deal of during a stress testing of the CelerX ecosystem that was being run by Binance... I have to say, there were deep flaws in the economic system of the CelerX ecosystem.... such that I don't think that it has long term potential as a proper versus gaming platform... as a sidechain, it works decently well... but the game reward structure is not conducive to long term growth and user retention.

The actual game itself was pretty simple... nothing to write home about... it's not really something that I would recommend to others... the game is actually quite annoying after a short while... with only the prospect of winning some crypto being the only draw.... but as I have mentioned, I think that over the long-term... most players will end up losing crypto.

So, in the end... an average game on a decent platform with a flawed economic and user retention model. However, for me... the practice of using and experiencing a platform and dApp combined with the opportunity to write an in-depth review and hone my writing skills is the main thing that keeps drawing me back to participating in the dApp review contests by @oracle-d!

Coin Tracking

Looking for a quick and easy way to keep track of your cryptocurrencies? Coin Tracking offers a free service that includes manual tracking or automatic tracking via APIs to exchanges, allowing you to easily track and declare your cryptocurrencies for taxation reports. Coin Tracking can easily prepare tax information sheets that are catered to each countries individual taxation requirements (capital gains, asset taxation, FIFO). Best to declare legally and not be caught out when your crypto moons and you are faced with an unexpected taxation bill (unless you are hyper secure and never attach any crypto with traceable personal information, good luck with that!).

Keep Your Crypto Holdings Safe with Ledger

Ledger is one of the leading providers of hardware wallets with the Ledger Nano S being one of the most popular choices for protecting your crypto currencies. Leaving your holdings on a crypto exchange means that you don’t actually own the digital assets, instead you are given an IOU that may or may not be honoured when you call upon it. Software and web based wallets have their weakness in your own personal online security, with your private keys being vulnerable in transit or whilst being stored upon your computer. Paper wallets are incredibly tiresome and still vulnerable to digital attacks (in transit) and are also open to real world attacks (such as theft/photography).

Supporting a wide range of top tokens and coins, the Ledger hardware wallet ensures that your private keys are secure and not exposed to either real world or digital actors. Finding a happy medium of security and usability, Ledger is the leading company in providing safe and secure access to your tokenised future!

Ledger Nano S - The secure hardware wallet


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57