Marblewood Longbow - DIYsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy6 years ago

Hey Steemers! Hope everyone is taking advantage of the low STEEM price and buying up as much as possible! I got a little myself!

I've been working on a new bow! This one is a red oak bow with marblewood for the riser and limb tips. I used the same process as I did in previous bow builds, and got a 42# bow.

image

I started with a red oak board and a hunk of marblewood...

image

Glued my pieces together with Titebond II wood glue...

image

image

After gluing, I did my tillering and started rasping the handle to shape. I wanted to take my time because it was my first time using marblewood and I wanted it to look GOOD!!

image

Drew out my template and got to it...

image

image

Not done with the riser, I decided to put the fiberglass on to get that step out of the way...

image

Then continued to rasp, scrape, and sand the riser to shape...

image

image

Now, I could finally brace the bow and test a few arrows to make sure it was shooting straight...

image

image

With the hard work done, it was time to paint, oil, and finish the bow. I painted the fiberglass then added some red oak veneer for accent...

image

Just to see if I liked it, I stippled the handle using a rotary tool and gave the grip area some pizazz...

image

Now, I can coat with Danish oil. I put on about 6 coats...

image

image

image

image

image

With everything looking like I wanted it, I added 2 coats of polyurethane to seal in the shine...

image

Let's see it In action!!

Thanks for following along and stay tuned for the next build!!

Happy Steeming!!!

Sort:  

Are you preparing to equip a phalanx of archers? How many have you made?

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL! This is the 5th one and I have another already in the pipeline! I'm still learning as I go, so I'll keep making them as long as I keep learning from them. Hope to start selling them as soon as possible too. (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

That bow looks really nice. I would love to shoot one at a range or somewhere safe. Where do you shoot your arrows other than at a target in your back yard?

Thank you!! I think you'd love it!! Right now, back yards and open spaces are safe and free. There are archery ranges in most major cities and I plan to join a local club soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Those bows look amazing !!

Thank you!! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61