Celebrating the Year of the Sea with Stitches ...

in #create6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I wrote very briefly about some outstanding textile work I saw at a Cafe in Swansea. I decided to include more photos today as I also learnt more about the event and the work I saw.

Below is a selection of photos showing some textile postcards produced by a Sewing group called Cutting Edge.

It was all part of the month-long Swansea Festival of Stitch and takes place all over the city but you can mainly see the exhibitions in cafes and shops.

The exhibition in Cafi Tapestri reflected very much the celebrations to mark The Year of the Sea, which I honestly didn't know anything about.

Besides exhibitions the festival includes master classes, free lessons and a special ‘textile market’.

I was really interested in some of the work yesterday. It looked really professional and had a vintage look about it.

This was my favourite piece. I really liked the details like gold stitching, beading and so on.

I’d taken a photo of the label next to it so now I can reveal that the embroiderer behind it is Monica Dennis. When I visited her blog I noticed she wrote :

I have been busy creating a wallhanging from manufactured blocks – which is entitled She Sews Sea Shells – very apt for the theme of our exhibition.

This led me to make all sorts of searches until I found what she meant by ‘manufactured blocks’. I discovered that the artist behind the illustrations is Janet Wecker-Frisch and searching on the name throws up a number of interesting examples of her work. There is also a good bio here.

I doubt I will get to take part in any of the activities but it was great to see all that work. The most memorable part will be visiting @tinygalaxy’s future hall of residence at uni. You can just see her drawing in the picture below.



photos by @cryptocariad



Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptocariad! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=cryptocariad
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=celebrating-the-year-of-the-sea-with-stitches


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This looks like a great exhibition (and tasty lunch, too) 😊

It was a great exhibition, great (tasty) lunch and, best of all, great company : @pennsif and @tinygalaxy 😊

that looks like a really fun exhibition @cryptocariad. I always love to see textiles work although it's not something I do. I don't feel I have the time to learn it either although now the weather has cooled down a bit I might get up to the attic where my art stuff if.

it's been a long time since i've done anything creative. I find it quite difficult to get going again after a long work.

i'll maybe have to take a look around and see if there are any challenges anywhere i fancy having a go at. 😊

I could really appreciate the time that went to prepare all of the great work being shown, @gillianpearce... all worth it every second but as you it's hard as work's got to come first...

Beautiful works. My two boys will be returning to college soon. It is a very exciting time of life.

Very exciting time for them to start new lives and bitter sweet for us to see them fly the nest @steven-patrick 😊

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank you, @steemitworldmap ! I will do now :D

I really like the quilt looking postcards and wall hanging pictures. They are a perfect combination of painting and sewing, all in one.

My hands are itching to make an embroidered postcard with an insect design, @marblely... I'm trying to be good and 'concentrate' on the works in progress.

Ooo .. how about a cute bee?

hmmm watch this space @marblely... bee or hover fly :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64119.05
ETH 2765.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66