Odd object department: bird cage

in #craftsmanship5 years ago

birdcage.jpg

I was visiting a junk shop up the road from where I work and I spotted a hand-carved wooden bird cage at the top of a high shelf. The shop owner kindly let me get her ladder to take pictures of it. The shop is piled floor-to-ceiling with any and every old object known to man and there's very little space to place the ladder so I just had to make the best shots I could and in the end I had to take a top and bottom view. Who says shitposting photographs is an easy, low-effort activity?

cage2.jpg

It seems that this cage was made with wooden birds, they are lying on the bottom of the cage. Sadly, the wooden parts of the roof have also seen better days.

First posted here on my blog in WeKu

Sort:  

that cage is very peculiar, quite funny

Original cage. Apparently the master who had a good artistic taste to her affairs.

Lot of intricate work to contain some wooden birds :-)

I like that kind of thing

Very beautiful cage!
This is just a work of art!
Her can even be kept as a beautiful decoration.

It has a chinese architectural look to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Very nice piece of work! It’s either from Thailand or Cambodia.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63733.51
ETH 2629.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83